Now a good time to build a high performance pc? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-30-2006, 04:48 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by john3
hmm that sounds familiar, oh i know where i heard that before



oh right, there ^

lol
lol
__________________

Static_11 is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 05:46 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 38
Default

Thanks for the replies guys, here's what I've compiled so far as far as components go for the comp im thinking about building, any opinions are greatly appreciated:

Processor: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Custra...82E16819103546

or

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103545

Video Card: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814143047

RAM: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145416
(I would be getting 4x sticks of these, or is 2GB too much?)

HDs: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148111
(would be getting two)

Power supply: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Custra...82E16817103931

I'm going to find the rest of the parts later, just let me know what you think of these so far guys and if you could think of any problems I might run into, thanks a lot
__________________

Emper0r is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 05:54 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

looks good
Static_11 is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 06:18 PM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

hmm......i dunno of 512MB of ram is enough dude. get 2GB Dual Channel Ram. buy the Opteron 165 or the X2 3800+ and as for video card, either get a 7900GT or a x1800 XT, because u dont want to spend a large amount of money on a G80 after ur spent over $500 for a 7900GTX. get a GT or x1800 XT, then save up for a G80 or maybe even a R600 ( but those are a while away, way away). 4600 and 4200 have low cache so they are bad altogether.
john3 is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 06:20 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

he said he is getting 4 of them... but yeah go with two 1 gig sticks...
Static_11 is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 06:27 PM   #16 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

yeah dont get 4 512 sticks, u wanna utilize dual channel so u will need 2 1gig kit ( hence the word dual), but make sure that you buy it as a set. dont buy 1 gig one time then another another time. chances are ( for sure!) it wont work dual channel.
john3 is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 06:31 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

another thing, in most cases with 4 sticks, it downclocks to 333mhz
Static_11 is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 06:57 PM   #18 (permalink)
bum
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 286
Default

you need lots of ram for dual core so don't go cheap on it. plus then you can upgrade latter. (2 1gig sticks are cheaper than 4*512)

and on the wait issue: I would wait, because when the new stuff comes out I'm sure the price of the old stuff will drop dramically
__________________
Opteron 175 + Scythe Infinity
Asus A8N32-SLI
2 gigs corsair XMS DDR 400
XFX geforce 6800 XT
X-navigator case
30G Maxtor + 250G Maxtor

"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn." -- Seagate CEO Bill Watkins
bum is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 06:59 PM   #19 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

you need alot of ram for dual core? wow.......i think that is possibly the newbiest thing i have ever heard...............
john3 is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 08:57 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 38
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by john3
hmm......i dunno of 512MB of ram is enough dude. get 2GB Dual Channel Ram. buy the Opteron 165 or the X2 3800+ and as for video card, either get a 7900GT or a x1800 XT, because u dont want to spend a large amount of money on a G80 after ur spent over $500 for a 7900GTX. get a GT or x1800 XT, then save up for a G80 or maybe even a R600 ( but those are a while away, way away). 4600 and 4200 have low cache so they are bad altogether.
John a few questions for you:

1. What AMD processor would you recommend if not the 4600 or the 4200?

2. Can you link me to the video card/s you're talking about?

3. I'm getting 2 GB of ram, but do you think I should get 2x 1 gig sticks or 4x 512 sticks? Is there a difference?

Thanks a bunch for the replies man
__________________

Emper0r is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.