Novice PC Build- Direction appreciated

Status
Not open for further replies.

mmaenthusiast

Beta member
Firstly, I would like to express my gratitude for taking the time to evaluate my first build. My intention is to use the system largely for research, gaming, and home theatre use. While I have little utility for Intel's hyper threading technology presently, I would like to have that feature at my disposal in the future. Also, my budget is set at $1,500- $1,800. Some leniency in that budget is possible. I will purchase parts this Saturday/Sunday with luck.

As a side note I have considered the core i7 920, paring it with perhaps, the ASUS P6X58 D Premium motherboard, however once I begin researching consumer reviews I come across many questionable reviews regarding failed RAM modules, DOA boards, issues with setting bios, etc. As this is my first build such reviews elicit little confidence in the socket 1366 compatible boards. Nevertheless, upgradeability is a major concern of mine and as many, or all of you, are aware many of the newer Intel processors yet to be released will be directed at 1366 socket compatible boards and the future of the p55 series boards is largely unknown. What are your thoughts on this matter? What would those of you recommend? Should I upgrade to the core i7 920? And if so what motherboard would you recommend? (and obviously I would need to purchase compatible triple channel RAM to pair with it).

With the research I have conducted and my very limited technical knowledge I have compiled the following configuration:

-CPU $279.99- Intel Core i7-860 Lynnfield 2.8GHz LGA 1156 95W Quad-Core Processor Model BX80605I7860 - Retail
-CPU Cooling System $34.99- ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro Rev.2 92mm Fluid Dynamic CPU Cooler - Retail
-MOBO $139.99- ASRock P55 Extreme LGA 1156 Intel P55 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail