not the worlds greatest - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-21-2005, 01:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2
Default not the worlds greatest

Gigabyte 7VT600P-RZ Socket A Barebone Kit / AMD Athlon XP 3200+ / 512MB DDR PC3200 / CPU Fan / ATX Mid-Tower Case / X-Connect 400 Watt PS/ Keyboard / Mouse

$250


http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...ab=11&NoMapp=0







i realize this system is not going to be the "cats pajamas" and it is from tiger direct, they are right down the road, so if there is problem i go thump some heads till i get a new box of crap, but this deal is really cheap. I plan to use it for BF2, BF vietnam, websurfing, etc. Not really interested in overclocking or super resolution. but want more than the lowest settings, ie dont want the game to look like crap. I have a cheap offbrand raedon 9550 256mb agp card to throw in it after i get it.

opinions?

thanks gents
__________________

snickersandapep is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 02:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 187
Default

Its not a bad deal, but its going to struggle playing BF2 and such
__________________

__________________
Thermaltake Shark
OCZ 700W GameXStream
Asus M2N32 SLI
AM2 X2 5600
Corsair XMS 2x1GB
Western Digital Raptor 150 GB
2xBFG 7950GT
AZNRockThis is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 04:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default

I was going to buy one of those to make a linux machine, its a really good deal. I recently found a good compouter that i may be able to get for free.
__________________
PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 05:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

thats PSU is crap, don't buy it, even if your not gonna OC. that PSU is crap.
Ste is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 05:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

9550 is going to be a hard time playing bf2 and other games
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 06:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2
Default

i bought a cheap system from tigerdirect, sempron processor , ecs motherboard etc. that had "linspire" installed on it. i guess for internet surfing, word processing, etc, it would have worked fine. long story short, i put windows xp on in , 9550 vid card etc and it would play BF vietnam, acceptably. BF2 is a little more demanding, so i guess i need a new video card.
snickersandapep is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 06:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 39
Send a message via AIM to banefulassasin
Default

Say I bought this system, added 512MB's of RAM so it has 1GB, and got a 6600gt. How's that sound?
banefulassasin is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 06:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

good for now lol cept the proc.
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 08:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

there's always gonna be a bottleneck unless you spend a year's pay on it... but I would look into a socket 939 setup... I got one and I payed more than I wanted to, but it's completely upgradable for FX series and dual core everything. I feel more futureproof. I think you'll run current games fine, but don't count on keeping up with new games that keep pouring out. Good luck with your build!

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 08:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

BF2 will laugh at you if you install it on that system....

Sorry : (
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.