Not working now - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-24-2008, 12:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Not working now

I went to the movies, and everything was kosher. Now, i get home, and my computer is on, but mouse keyboard and monitor are off/not working. Mouse and keyboard not lighted and off completely, with monitor no signal. Ive manually restarted my computer, changed slots on everything, changed ram, what else should i check?
__________________

__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 03-24-2008, 12:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
M.C. Etcher
 
Grievearz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 321
Send a message via AIM to Grievearz
Default Re: Not working now

You try plugging it into a different USB port?
__________________

__________________


Maybe I'm a Lion...
Grievearz is offline  
Old 03-24-2008, 12:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: Not working now

thats what i meant by changed slots on everything. Also, the monitor wont get signal.
__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 03-24-2008, 12:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
M.C. Etcher
 
Grievearz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 321
Send a message via AIM to Grievearz
Default Re: Not working now

Sounds bad. Go in and check all your connections, see if any smells burnt. You could have gotten a power surge and blown something. You could also try unplugging the PSU from the wall, hitting the power button to completely discharge the system and then plug it back in after 10-15 seconds.
__________________


Maybe I'm a Lion...
Grievearz is offline  
Old 03-24-2008, 12:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: Not working now

did that, didnt do anything. Ill take everything out and reput it in see if that makes a difference
__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 03-24-2008, 09:45 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Not working now

Get any post/beep codes????
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-24-2008, 12:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: Not working now

nope, no post, no beeps, nothing.
__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 03-24-2008, 01:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Not working now

You did have the system overclocked, so something could have overheated and just decided to die.. Possibly the video card itself just stopped working on you. Try a different video card or monitor.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 03-24-2008, 03:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: Not working now

You could try clearing CMOS and then try to boot back up.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 03-24-2008, 04:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Not working now

But since this is a combination of issues, they seem to point to the motherboard being the root of the problem, so try what carnage said and hope nothing was damaged so you don't need to replace your mobo or anything else.
__________________

__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dual geforce 8800 ( are they working?) rxsevenpimp New Systems | Building and Buying 7 03-18-2008 10:42 PM
New build monitor not working nastsystems System Upgrades 21 03-17-2008 04:16 PM
x800gto no longer working. Erich K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 10-06-2007 01:19 PM
Network connection stopped working!? farmboy1984 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 04-28-2007 05:31 PM
Sound not working techn00bie Computer Audio and Multimedia 0 04-11-2007 09:33 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.