Not good - I thought I OC'd my Processor, but now its running slower! - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-09-2009, 05:59 PM   #41 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 383
Default Re: Not good - I thought I OC'd my Processor, but now its running slower!

Philbar -

Great news! I made the RAM changes you requested, and it seemed to help significantly! Im still getting a bit choppy FPS, but its a huge imrpovement! Thanks so much for the help man
__________________

__________________
Enermax Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Case
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16Ghz - OC'd at 4.13Ghz Stable
ASUS P5B Deluxe P965 Motherboard
Zalman 750W Modular Power Supply w/ Heatpipe Cooling
Zalman 110MM 2 Ball CPU Cooler
eVGA GeForce GTX285 1GB Graphics Card
G.SKILL 6GB DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Logitech THX Z-5300e 280 Watts RMS 5.1 Speakers
SCEPTRE 22" Widescreen HDTV LCD
Wireless Logitech Keyboard and Mouse
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer 7.1
SAMSUNG SpinPoint 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s
King$nake is offline  
Old 05-09-2009, 06:01 PM   #42 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Not good - I thought I OC'd my Processor, but now its running slower!

also is there a place to set the timings? if there is then you should set them to stock or close to stock. because the ram timings can also have a negative impact on your game perfromance.
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 05-09-2009, 08:07 PM   #43 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 383
Default Re: Not good - I thought I OC'd my Processor, but now its running slower!

Do I set the first 4 numbers to 4-4-4-12?

__________________
Enermax Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Case
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16Ghz - OC'd at 4.13Ghz Stable
ASUS P5B Deluxe P965 Motherboard
Zalman 750W Modular Power Supply w/ Heatpipe Cooling
Zalman 110MM 2 Ball CPU Cooler
eVGA GeForce GTX285 1GB Graphics Card
G.SKILL 6GB DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Logitech THX Z-5300e 280 Watts RMS 5.1 Speakers
SCEPTRE 22" Widescreen HDTV LCD
Wireless Logitech Keyboard and Mouse
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer 7.1
SAMSUNG SpinPoint 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s
King$nake is offline  
Old 05-10-2009, 01:49 AM   #44 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 383
Default Re: Not good - I thought I OC'd my Processor, but now its running slower!

Looks like I took a few steps backward now...

I can bump up the FSB like normal - get the processor running at 4.13 Ghz (413FSB) but the performance drops dramatically (down to 25 FPS or so)

It seemed to be running fine for a bit, but then I went to change the RAM timings to 4-4-4-12, and put the RAM voltage at 1.9V - then the Computer wont boot up!

The issue Im having is definitely related to the RAM. Whenever I adjust the Processor FSB, something affects the RAM and slows it way down. Im just not sure what to do with the RAM to get it in synch with the faster processor speeds.

So what I did now was 'reset' to defaults - and I turned off SpeedStep and C1E, and haven't changed anything else since. Performance has increased (atleast to what it used to be) but Im really bugged that I cant figure out how adjust the RAM correctly when I Overclock the Processor.

I know I can get this CPU to 4.13Ghz stable, just not sure how to properly adjust the RAM stuff
__________________
Enermax Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Case
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16Ghz - OC'd at 4.13Ghz Stable
ASUS P5B Deluxe P965 Motherboard
Zalman 750W Modular Power Supply w/ Heatpipe Cooling
Zalman 110MM 2 Ball CPU Cooler
eVGA GeForce GTX285 1GB Graphics Card
G.SKILL 6GB DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Logitech THX Z-5300e 280 Watts RMS 5.1 Speakers
SCEPTRE 22" Widescreen HDTV LCD
Wireless Logitech Keyboard and Mouse
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer 7.1
SAMSUNG SpinPoint 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s
King$nake is offline  
Old 05-11-2009, 06:54 AM   #45 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Not good - I thought I OC'd my Processor, but now its running slower!

your timings are totally out! they are set to 5-6-6-15. Yes set the first 4 numbered values which are 5-6-6-15 to 4-4-4-12, lets hope the other advanced settings are also correct. I couldn't see this dropping that much performance unless something else is wrong in there, try this first anyway.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 05-11-2009, 05:39 PM   #46 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 383
Default Re: Not good - I thought I OC'd my Processor, but now its running slower!

Quote:
Originally Posted by baron5 View Post
your timings are totally out! they are set to 5-6-6-15. Yes set the first 4 numbered values which are 5-6-6-15 to 4-4-4-12, lets hope the other advanced settings are also correct. I couldn't see this dropping that much performance unless something else is wrong in there, try this first anyway.
Hi Baron -

Yea, I did set the timings to 4-4-4-12, didn't seem to help any

One more thing - the memory sticks don't match completely....

I left my older (2) 1 GB sticks in the motherboard, and simply added two more (2) 2 Gig Sticks (6 Gigs Total)

They are all DDR2 800 so I didnt think there would be an issue, am I mistaken?


They are all DDR2-800, and both G.Skill - so I didnt think there would be an issue?


Maybe I should take out the original (2) 1GB sticks and leave the new (2) 2GB sticks in?

Im running XP anyways - anything over 3-4 gig is no good, right?

Here are some current CPU-Z screens for reference:
__________________
Enermax Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Case
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16Ghz - OC'd at 4.13Ghz Stable
ASUS P5B Deluxe P965 Motherboard
Zalman 750W Modular Power Supply w/ Heatpipe Cooling
Zalman 110MM 2 Ball CPU Cooler
eVGA GeForce GTX285 1GB Graphics Card
G.SKILL 6GB DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Logitech THX Z-5300e 280 Watts RMS 5.1 Speakers
SCEPTRE 22" Widescreen HDTV LCD
Wireless Logitech Keyboard and Mouse
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer 7.1
SAMSUNG SpinPoint 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s
King$nake is offline  
Old 05-11-2009, 09:12 PM   #47 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Not good - I thought I OC'd my Processor, but now its running slower!

^ and you say with those settings games are still choppy?
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 05-11-2009, 11:31 PM   #48 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 383
Default Re: Not good - I thought I OC'd my Processor, but now its running slower!

Quote:
Originally Posted by philbar71 View Post
^ and you say with those settings games are still choppy?

Finally fixed this issue.

The culprit: There is a 'known issue' with certain Mobos (including my P5B) where the Link Width automatically switches to x1 instead of x16 any time you overclock. I had to set my PCI frequency to 101, and change the NB voltage....but when I booted up, I checked CPU-Z, and it showed the link width at 16x!! I then ran iRacing - it is sooooo smooth!!!!

Im running 4.0 Ghz right now - seems to be stable. Now Im going to run some stress tests, etc and see how it handles - but for now, I think we fixed it.

Cant thank you all enough, especially philbar -


thanks again for all the help this pc is screeeamin now
__________________
Enermax Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Case
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16Ghz - OC'd at 4.13Ghz Stable
ASUS P5B Deluxe P965 Motherboard
Zalman 750W Modular Power Supply w/ Heatpipe Cooling
Zalman 110MM 2 Ball CPU Cooler
eVGA GeForce GTX285 1GB Graphics Card
G.SKILL 6GB DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Logitech THX Z-5300e 280 Watts RMS 5.1 Speakers
SCEPTRE 22" Widescreen HDTV LCD
Wireless Logitech Keyboard and Mouse
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer 7.1
SAMSUNG SpinPoint 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s
King$nake is offline  
Old 05-11-2009, 11:36 PM   #49 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Not good - I thought I OC'd my Processor, but now its running slower!

Ahh so it was the cards pci-e slot being set at x1 that was casuing all the problems, who would have thought
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 05-11-2009, 11:42 PM   #50 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 383
Default Re: Not good - I thought I OC'd my Processor, but now its running slower!

Quote:
Originally Posted by baron5 View Post
Ahh so it was the cards pci-e slot being set at x1 that was casuing all the problems, who would have thought
What's wierd is it would be set to 16x - until you start to overclock it, then it automatically goes to 1x. I google searched the **** out of the link width x1 issue, and I guess its common with P5B type boards. I utilized some of the solutions (adjust NB Voltage, etc) and it fixed it.

Thanks again for all the help guys
__________________

__________________
Enermax Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Case
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16Ghz - OC'd at 4.13Ghz Stable
ASUS P5B Deluxe P965 Motherboard
Zalman 750W Modular Power Supply w/ Heatpipe Cooling
Zalman 110MM 2 Ball CPU Cooler
eVGA GeForce GTX285 1GB Graphics Card
G.SKILL 6GB DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Logitech THX Z-5300e 280 Watts RMS 5.1 Speakers
SCEPTRE 22" Widescreen HDTV LCD
Wireless Logitech Keyboard and Mouse
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer 7.1
SAMSUNG SpinPoint 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s
King$nake is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is 43* hot for a slight OC'd Quad?? (kind of long) Antec-User Overclocking and Modding 21 10-29-2008 02:03 PM
My computer actually running slower than my slower end computer? Ric0h Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 09-23-2008 08:42 PM
Good PC running slow... josephmil New Systems | Building and Buying 8 09-02-2008 06:37 AM
Core 2 Duo E6420 running slower? Deadpixel Overclocking and Modding 20 07-01-2007 03:47 AM
E6420 running slower than stock speed? badboyzz77 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-22-2007 04:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.