Not good - I thought I OC'd my Processor, but now its running slower! - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-09-2009, 03:42 AM   #21 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 383
Default Re: Not good - I thought I OC'd my Processor, but now its running slower!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hefemeister View Post
now you are going about it the correct way. Make 5 to 10mhz increases in fsb then test with prime. ideally you want 1 hour but if it is real unstable it will error within 10 minutes. If you error bump the vcore a tiny bit and retest. somehing like goin from 1.25 to 1.275.
Hef, thanks again for all the advice.

I bumped up the FSB some more - now the CPU is at 4.11 GHZ! awesome!

I also bumped the voltage up from 1.25 to 1.30, and that seems to be enough (it was unstable at 1.25)

I am running Prime95 as I type this, and the CPU is @ 4.11GHZ, and the temp is showing at 57 C. Ive been running Prime95 for about 10 minutes now too.

Awesome! I guess if it gets any warmer, I should bump up the voltage a bit more? What are the drawbacks to bumping up the voltage? My temps seem to drop significantly every time I bump it up
__________________

__________________
Enermax Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Case
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16Ghz - OC'd at 4.13Ghz Stable
ASUS P5B Deluxe P965 Motherboard
Zalman 750W Modular Power Supply w/ Heatpipe Cooling
Zalman 110MM 2 Ball CPU Cooler
eVGA GeForce GTX285 1GB Graphics Card
G.SKILL 6GB DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Logitech THX Z-5300e 280 Watts RMS 5.1 Speakers
SCEPTRE 22" Widescreen HDTV LCD
Wireless Logitech Keyboard and Mouse
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer 7.1
SAMSUNG SpinPoint 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s
King$nake is offline  
Old 05-09-2009, 03:50 AM   #22 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Not good - I thought I OC'd my Processor, but now its running slower!

as you move vcore up temps will increase. What you want is the lowest vcore possible to keep your oc stable for 1 hour on prime.

57C on load is good.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 05-09-2009, 05:23 AM   #23 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 383
Default Re: Not good - I thought I OC'd my Processor, but now its running slower!

One more thing -

I started seeing a big performance drop (Frame rates) in my games after I initially did the 100 FSB bump (from 333 to 433). It may be coincidence, but I've lost a TON of performance ever since I did that initial change in BIOS.

Even though I put it back to 333FSB before I started OC'ing, I still am seeing huge performance drops in the games I am playing. It shows me as being at 4.13Ghz, but for some reason I've gone from 300FPS+ to only 25-50 FPS.

Could this be related to the changes I made in BIOS, or is just coincidence?

Thanks
__________________
Enermax Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Case
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16Ghz - OC'd at 4.13Ghz Stable
ASUS P5B Deluxe P965 Motherboard
Zalman 750W Modular Power Supply w/ Heatpipe Cooling
Zalman 110MM 2 Ball CPU Cooler
eVGA GeForce GTX285 1GB Graphics Card
G.SKILL 6GB DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Logitech THX Z-5300e 280 Watts RMS 5.1 Speakers
SCEPTRE 22" Widescreen HDTV LCD
Wireless Logitech Keyboard and Mouse
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer 7.1
SAMSUNG SpinPoint 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s
King$nake is offline  
Old 05-09-2009, 07:55 AM   #24 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: Not good - I thought I OC'd my Processor, but now its running slower!

Quote:
Originally Posted by King$nake View Post
One more thing -

I started seeing a big performance drop (Frame rates) in my games after I initially did the 100 FSB bump (from 333 to 433). It may be coincidence, but I've lost a TON of performance ever since I did that initial change in BIOS.

Even though I put it back to 333FSB before I started OC'ing, I still am seeing huge performance drops in the games I am playing. It shows me as being at 4.13Ghz, but for some reason I've gone from 300FPS+ to only 25-50 FPS.

Could this be related to the changes I made in BIOS, or is just coincidence?

Thanks
Weird. Did you just set the fsb back, or did you go to the last page of your bios and select the revert all settings to default thing?
zedman3d is offline  
Old 05-09-2009, 09:13 AM   #25 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Not good - I thought I OC'd my Processor, but now its running slower!

That is weird.

My suggestion is to mark down all your settings that are stable, and default them all in the BIOS. Make sure Speedstep and C1E is still disabled.

Test out a game, see how it plays. Then put your overclock back in and compare it.

Remember to mark down the settings exactly. Your vcore, fsb, etc.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 05-09-2009, 09:22 AM   #26 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Not good - I thought I OC'd my Processor, but now its running slower!

Are you sure your not mistaken, 25 frames is a big drop from 300. 25 is barley playable for most gamers. In your earlier screen shots your cpu multi was set to x6 and that was why your performance and clock was low, I suggested doing what hikari said, or slightly different way maybe;
record your fps after a cleared cmos
then, without changing anything besides; 1)speedstep and C1E, 2)known stable fsb and vcore. 3) make sure that the multi is set to x9.5, this is the stock multi for your cpu. then press f10 to exit and save. now compare these fps to the ones from default cmos.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 05-09-2009, 03:06 PM   #27 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 383
Default Re: Not good - I thought I OC'd my Processor, but now its running slower!

Quote:
Originally Posted by baron5 View Post
Are you sure your not mistaken, 25 frames is a big drop from 300. 25 is barley playable for most gamers. In your earlier screen shots your cpu multi was set to x6 and that was why your performance and clock was low, I suggested doing what hikari said, or slightly different way maybe;
record your fps after a cleared cmos
then, without changing anything besides; 1)speedstep and C1E, 2)known stable fsb and vcore. 3) make sure that the multi is set to x9.5, this is the stock multi for your cpu. then press f10 to exit and save. now compare these fps to the ones from default cmos.
Ok - this is what I did.

I had also installed some new nVidia Drivers at the same time all this started occuring - and I thought it may be related. So I went back to 182.50 - but that didn't help at all.

So I went into BIOS and reset all back to default, and restarted the PC. That seemed to fix the issue - as Im back to over 100+ FPS.

So what Im going to do now is go back, disable Speedstep, disable C1E, and make sure my multi is at x9.5

If my FPS are still running smoothly (Im sure they will) I will start the OC process over again and start bumping up the fsb by 10 or so. Ill report back in a bit with the progress.
__________________
Enermax Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Case
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16Ghz - OC'd at 4.13Ghz Stable
ASUS P5B Deluxe P965 Motherboard
Zalman 750W Modular Power Supply w/ Heatpipe Cooling
Zalman 110MM 2 Ball CPU Cooler
eVGA GeForce GTX285 1GB Graphics Card
G.SKILL 6GB DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Logitech THX Z-5300e 280 Watts RMS 5.1 Speakers
SCEPTRE 22" Widescreen HDTV LCD
Wireless Logitech Keyboard and Mouse
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer 7.1
SAMSUNG SpinPoint 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s
King$nake is offline  
Old 05-09-2009, 03:49 PM   #28 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 383
Default Re: Not good - I thought I OC'd my Processor, but now its running slower!

hmm, strange things are happening.

So I reset the BIOS back to defaults - like mentioned - and my FPS went back to normal in the games I play.

However, when I start bumping up the FSB by 10, I am actually LOSING frame rates in iRacing!

Like right now, Im at 3.5Ghz (373FSB x 9.5 Multiplier) @ 38 Degrees C.

And Im back to only around 25-30FPS? So strange

__________________
Enermax Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Case
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16Ghz - OC'd at 4.13Ghz Stable
ASUS P5B Deluxe P965 Motherboard
Zalman 750W Modular Power Supply w/ Heatpipe Cooling
Zalman 110MM 2 Ball CPU Cooler
eVGA GeForce GTX285 1GB Graphics Card
G.SKILL 6GB DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Logitech THX Z-5300e 280 Watts RMS 5.1 Speakers
SCEPTRE 22" Widescreen HDTV LCD
Wireless Logitech Keyboard and Mouse
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer 7.1
SAMSUNG SpinPoint 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s
King$nake is offline  
Old 05-09-2009, 04:21 PM   #29 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Not good - I thought I OC'd my Processor, but now its running slower!

what speeds and timings are your ram running at?
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 05-09-2009, 04:38 PM   #30 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 383
Default Re: Not good - I thought I OC'd my Processor, but now its running slower!

Quote:
Originally Posted by philbar71 View Post
what speeds and timings are your ram running at?
Im not sure - I haven't messed with the RAM timings or anything. They may still be set to AUTO in BIOS
__________________

__________________
Enermax Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Case
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16Ghz - OC'd at 4.13Ghz Stable
ASUS P5B Deluxe P965 Motherboard
Zalman 750W Modular Power Supply w/ Heatpipe Cooling
Zalman 110MM 2 Ball CPU Cooler
eVGA GeForce GTX285 1GB Graphics Card
G.SKILL 6GB DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Logitech THX Z-5300e 280 Watts RMS 5.1 Speakers
SCEPTRE 22" Widescreen HDTV LCD
Wireless Logitech Keyboard and Mouse
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer 7.1
SAMSUNG SpinPoint 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s
King$nake is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is 43* hot for a slight OC'd Quad?? (kind of long) Antec-User Overclocking and Modding 21 10-29-2008 02:03 PM
My computer actually running slower than my slower end computer? Ric0h Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 09-23-2008 08:42 PM
Good PC running slow... josephmil New Systems | Building and Buying 8 09-02-2008 06:37 AM
Core 2 Duo E6420 running slower? Deadpixel Overclocking and Modding 20 07-01-2007 03:47 AM
E6420 running slower than stock speed? badboyzz77 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-22-2007 04:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.