Not good - I thought I OC'd my Processor, but now its running slower! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-09-2009, 01:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 383
Default Not good - I thought I OC'd my Processor, but now its running slower!




Im running an E8500 processor.

All I did was bump the FSB up from 333 to 433, now its only running at 2.5ghz! And Ive noticed a significant drop in frame rates in my games.

What did I do wrong?

Thanks
__________________

__________________
Enermax Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Case
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16Ghz - OC'd at 4.13Ghz Stable
ASUS P5B Deluxe P965 Motherboard
Zalman 750W Modular Power Supply w/ Heatpipe Cooling
Zalman 110MM 2 Ball CPU Cooler
eVGA GeForce GTX285 1GB Graphics Card
G.SKILL 6GB DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Logitech THX Z-5300e 280 Watts RMS 5.1 Speakers
SCEPTRE 22" Widescreen HDTV LCD
Wireless Logitech Keyboard and Mouse
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer 7.1
SAMSUNG SpinPoint 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s
King$nake is offline  
Old 05-09-2009, 01:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Not good - I thought I OC'd my Processor, but now its running slower!

look at your multi it is at 6 while default is 9.5 for your chip.

Is speedstep enabled?
Did you change the multi in bios as well as the fsb?

Did you just bump the fsb 100mhz in one jump?
Did you have to up the vcore at all?
Is it prime stable?
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 05-09-2009, 01:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: Not good - I thought I OC'd my Processor, but now its running slower!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hefemeister View Post
look at your multi it is at 6 while default is 9.5 for your chip.

Is speedstep enabled?
Did you change the multi in bios as well as the fsb?

Did you just bump the fsb 100mhz in one jump?
Did you have to up the vcore at all?
Is it prime stable?
Could you have left me even one input? haha
I was gonna say, 100 boost straight away...
zedman3d is offline  
Old 05-09-2009, 01:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 383
Default Re: Not good - I thought I OC'd my Processor, but now its running slower!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hefemeister View Post
look at your multi it is at 6 while default is 9.5 for your chip.

Is speedstep enabled?
Did you change the multi in bios as well as the fsb?

Did you just bump the fsb 100mhz in one jump?
Did you have to up the vcore at all?
Is it prime stable?
Yea i did bump the fsb 100 - did I ruin anything?

Im not sure if Speedstep is enabled
I did not change the multi (dont know what that is)
Not sure about vcore

regardless, I got an 'overclocking failed' message right now at boot. It said I could press F2 to reset to defaults, which I did.

Now - here is what is showing me:

__________________
Enermax Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Case
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16Ghz - OC'd at 4.13Ghz Stable
ASUS P5B Deluxe P965 Motherboard
Zalman 750W Modular Power Supply w/ Heatpipe Cooling
Zalman 110MM 2 Ball CPU Cooler
eVGA GeForce GTX285 1GB Graphics Card
G.SKILL 6GB DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Logitech THX Z-5300e 280 Watts RMS 5.1 Speakers
SCEPTRE 22" Widescreen HDTV LCD
Wireless Logitech Keyboard and Mouse
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer 7.1
SAMSUNG SpinPoint 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s
King$nake is offline  
Old 05-09-2009, 01:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Not good - I thought I OC'd my Processor, but now its running slower!

not seeing anything. did you want to insert a picture?

Were you using the asus utility to overclock or were you doing it through bios.
The asus windows oc tool is crap. I played with it on mine to see how bad it is and it would constantly crash my system.

Always oc via bios.

Take the fsb up slowly in bios. at the start you can take it up like 10mhz at a time and test it with prime95 for stability. Once you get errors in prime you need to bump the vcore a bit and retest with prime.

During this whole process you must keep an eye on temps to make sure it is not getting too hot.
You would not want to have it over 70C at load for a 24/7 clock.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 05-09-2009, 02:20 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 383
Default Re: Not good - I thought I OC'd my Processor, but now its running slower!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hefemeister View Post
not seeing anything. did you want to insert a picture?

Were you using the asus utility to overclock or were you doing it through bios.
The asus windows oc tool is crap. I played with it on mine to see how bad it is and it would constantly crash my system.

Always oc via bios.

Take the fsb up slowly in bios. at the start you can take it up like 10mhz at a time and test it with prime95 for stability. Once you get errors in prime you need to bump the vcore a bit and retest with prime.

During this whole process you must keep an eye on temps to make sure it is not getting too hot.
You would not want to have it over 70C at load for a 24/7 clock.
I did do the FSB increase in BIOS - I only use AI Suite to check what my Mhz is at...

Anyways, I started bumping up the FSB by 10, and kept restarting the PC. It would reflect the changes properly.

I got it up to 3.5ghz - but then out of nowhere it just reset back to 2.2 ghz, where its at right now. Why did it reset?
__________________
Enermax Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Case
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16Ghz - OC'd at 4.13Ghz Stable
ASUS P5B Deluxe P965 Motherboard
Zalman 750W Modular Power Supply w/ Heatpipe Cooling
Zalman 110MM 2 Ball CPU Cooler
eVGA GeForce GTX285 1GB Graphics Card
G.SKILL 6GB DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Logitech THX Z-5300e 280 Watts RMS 5.1 Speakers
SCEPTRE 22" Widescreen HDTV LCD
Wireless Logitech Keyboard and Mouse
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer 7.1
SAMSUNG SpinPoint 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s
King$nake is offline  
Old 05-09-2009, 02:33 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Not good - I thought I OC'd my Processor, but now its running slower!

It could be possible that your board resets to default if you have an unstable oc but that would be weird.

It is possible that your cmos battery is bad and hence resetting your bios to default.

What does cpuz say about your clocks?
run prime95 and watch your multi.
If it moves up and down when you start and stop it you have speedstep enabled which downclocks your cpu when higher speeds are not necessary.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 05-09-2009, 02:34 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 383
Default

Like right now - my BUS speed is at 383 (I increased it by 10 until it got to 383) but its only showing my processor speed at 2.2ghz?



interesting...so I downloaded and ran Prime95, and I simply clicked on 'Blend'

then for some reason, it started showing my at 3.6ghz!? So now I am running 3.6, computer is VERY fast, but Im not sure why it just fixed itself? Did Prime95 have anything to do with it?

__________________
Enermax Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Case
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16Ghz - OC'd at 4.13Ghz Stable
ASUS P5B Deluxe P965 Motherboard
Zalman 750W Modular Power Supply w/ Heatpipe Cooling
Zalman 110MM 2 Ball CPU Cooler
eVGA GeForce GTX285 1GB Graphics Card
G.SKILL 6GB DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Logitech THX Z-5300e 280 Watts RMS 5.1 Speakers
SCEPTRE 22" Widescreen HDTV LCD
Wireless Logitech Keyboard and Mouse
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer 7.1
SAMSUNG SpinPoint 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s
King$nake is offline  
Old 05-09-2009, 02:46 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Not good - I thought I OC'd my Processor, but now its running slower!

You have speedstep on.
Turn it off if you do not want your multi to fluctuate.

what temps do you have when prime is running?
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 05-09-2009, 02:57 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 383
Default Re: Not good - I thought I OC'd my Processor, but now its running slower!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hefemeister View Post
You have speedstep on.
Turn it off if you do not want your multi to fluctuate.

what temps do you have when prime is running?
Right when I turned off Prime95 - the speeds went back to 2.2ghz


I just went into BIOS and turned off Speedstep. Unfortunately when I booted back to windows, its still showing 2.2ghz wtf!


When I turned Prime95 back on, my speed shot way back up to 3.6ghz, and the temp. is 73 C (during prime95 stress test)
__________________

__________________
Enermax Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Case
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16Ghz - OC'd at 4.13Ghz Stable
ASUS P5B Deluxe P965 Motherboard
Zalman 750W Modular Power Supply w/ Heatpipe Cooling
Zalman 110MM 2 Ball CPU Cooler
eVGA GeForce GTX285 1GB Graphics Card
G.SKILL 6GB DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800
Logitech THX Z-5300e 280 Watts RMS 5.1 Speakers
SCEPTRE 22" Widescreen HDTV LCD
Wireless Logitech Keyboard and Mouse
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer 7.1
SAMSUNG SpinPoint 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s
King$nake is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is 43* hot for a slight OC'd Quad?? (kind of long) Antec-User Overclocking and Modding 21 10-29-2008 02:03 PM
My computer actually running slower than my slower end computer? Ric0h Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 09-23-2008 08:42 PM
Good PC running slow... josephmil New Systems | Building and Buying 8 09-02-2008 06:37 AM
Core 2 Duo E6420 running slower? Deadpixel Overclocking and Modding 20 07-01-2007 03:47 AM
E6420 running slower than stock speed? badboyzz77 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-22-2007 04:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.