Is this normal? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-20-2007, 12:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Is this normal?

Hm... since i overclocked my system, when I press the "ON" button on my computer, it turns on, then off for like 5 seconds, then on again and starts booting up.

Before i overclocked my system, it turned on right away, fans turned on, mobo turned on, and everything boots up without the 5 seconds delay thing.

After I overclocked, i press the ON button, turns on for a blink then turns off for about 5 seconds then turns on again and boots up.

Is that normal? I just went back and put everything on automatic and my comp turns on right away. Hm... but when overclocked, it has the delay.
__________________

__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 12:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Is this normal?

As soon as you decided to oc the hardwares there you then placed a heavier load on the supply itself. The largest power demand is seen at post time when all drives and hardwares are quick tested by the bios itself. The supply doesn't sound adequate for the ocing you have going there.
__________________

eyeCpc is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 03:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: Is this normal?

The overclock obviously is not stable. If it fails to boot a few times it will just default back to stock bios settings.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 09:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Is this normal?

does it seem stable after u load up windows?
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 10:20 AM   #5 (permalink)
Web Programmer
 
murdocsvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 896
Default Re: Is this normal?

with my first build i had exactly the same problem. i think its a problem with the PSU, and the fact it boots and then turns off means it hasnt quite got enough juice. i had a computer doing it for about 6 months till i upgraded my install, and i never had any problems AND i wasnt OCing. the reason it wont boot for 5 seconds (im guessing) is because the capacitors need to charge. with a more powerful PSU, they're pretty much ready instantly.
__________________
PHP + MYSQL, ASP.Net + C# with SQL, WCF, Python, XHTML + CSS, HTML5, JavaScript, jQuery, Flash + ActionScript 3, XML, SVG.

Web Developer Portfolio
murdocsvan is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 11:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Tadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 124
Default Re: Is this normal?

The one he's got in his sig is pretty powerful though
__________________
Intel Q6600
GeForce 8800 GT
Gigabyte p35-ds3r
2 gig Crucial
500 gig hdd
Tadow is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 11:44 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Is this normal?

Quote:
Originally Posted by eyeCpc View Post
As soon as you decided to oc the hardwares there you then placed a heavier load on the supply itself. The largest power demand is seen at post time when all drives and hardwares are quick tested by the bios itself. The supply doesn't sound adequate for the ocing you have going there.
Huh? What are you trying to say? His system is only unstable. There isn't a problem with his power supply.

What's your FSB right now pinoy? Have you ran Orthos overnight or during the day?
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 11:49 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: Is this normal?

yeah wat r u o/c it to? u have to do it in increments
__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 11:51 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Is this normal?

Or kobe, if you're too cool for increments, you UP your FSB to a point where you think your computer can't be stable and go down from there. Kidding, don't do that.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 11:53 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: Is this normal?

lol u could if u wanted to lol to a point, like if u have a q6600 and a tuniq u could jump straight to 3ghz then go up slowy from there
__________________

__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XP is not starting up in normal mode Help me Guyz.... jeynash Microsoft Windows and Software 13 08-05-2007 02:04 AM
are these temps normal? krazyq Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 07-19-2007 05:33 PM
computer cant start in normal mode danmanzcool1 HijackThis Logs (finished) 9 04-23-2007 08:34 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.