noobie need help with building a pc - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-01-2005, 04:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3
Default noobie need help with building a pc

hey guys, i need help with building my gaming pc (mostly wow). dont know much about hardwares so i did a lil research and came up with this.

ASUS A8N-Sli Deluxe Socket 939 Nvidia nForce4 Sli Atx Amd motherboard $164
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131517

AMD Athlon 64 3800 +venice 1GHz FSB 512KB L2 Cache Socket 939 Processor $323
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103531

Aspire ATX-AS520W PSU $58
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817148008

Patriot 1GB 184 DDR 400 $127
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820220045

MSI Geforce 6800gt $300
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814127158

Seagate Barracuda 7200.8 400GB ATA 150 $236
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148063

Raidmax ATX-901 $100
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811156174

LG 19' LCD $469
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage....=1072287119426

that's everything i got so far. most of these i picked out because they either look good/they has high rating from newegg.com some of the price i list is not very accurate. btw this is my first time building a pc and im on a budget of $2000. also this is my first time with forum, so i apologize if i broke any rule.
__________________

Mag3 is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 05:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 314
Default

That looks like a cheap psu, I would look into investing more money into one. Also for the mobo, it would prob be best to just get an MSI or DFI board. Finally for the price your paying for the processer, it may be best to go x2.
__________________

Vampire_Slayer is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 08:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default

No need for an SLI board especially if your only going to play WOW.
__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 08:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

swith over to a DFI NF4 ultra-D

and get a 3700+ san diego.
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 04:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 187
Default

I would keep the SLI board but go with DFI just in case you feel like adding another card in the future. That way if you do end up wanting to put anther one in you wont have to buy a whole new motherboard.
__________________
Thermaltake Shark
OCZ 700W GameXStream
Asus M2N32 SLI
AM2 X2 5600
Corsair XMS 2x1GB
Western Digital Raptor 150 GB
2xBFG 7950GT
AZNRockThis is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 09:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

SLI is totally overrated unless you have a decent card and a crappy machine, and are upgrading the machine but wanna hang onto a card and maybe double it's power later.

Go without the SLI and get a single 6800GT to run every game on the market...

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 10:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

go with eVGA for your 6800GT
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 10:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

I agree with most of the posts so far. No SLI for a game like (WoW). Also consider may-be a AMD 3200+ venice and pick up a 7800GT. Games are more dependent on the GFX card then the CPU. I wouldn't recommend installing an OS on a 400GIG HDD unless you partition it into say 4 smaller partitions. -OR- You could go with a WD Raptor74G @ 10K and pick up say a 250gig seagate as additional storage. Also That monitor is reather expensive, you could pick up one with equal to better performance at least $100.00 less. LIke the Viewsonic VX-924 19" LCD.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 11:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3
Default

thx for the reply guys. so should i get just go with one 1gb ram or 2 of them? is patriot a good brand? also, what's a good psu? about the processor, what's venice and san diego?
Mag3 is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 11:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3
Default

sorry guys, one more question, is there any other place cheaper than newegg.com but with the same quality of service and product?
__________________

Mag3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.