Noob CPU speed question? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-21-2008, 08:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 12
Send a message via AIM to spartanp1
Default Noob CPU speed question?

If I buy a quad processor that runs at 2.3 GHz, how does that compare to say a duo processor running at 3.0GHz?
__________________

spartanp1 is offline  
Old 09-21-2008, 08:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Noob CPU speed question?

That depends on a lot of things... P4 vs C2D (or Q), nm size, what all is running, etc. Care to be more specific?
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-21-2008, 09:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 12
Send a message via AIM to spartanp1
Default Re: Noob CPU speed question?

Basically if I had two identical computers (Ram, video card same, etc etc), But one was say a Pentium Quad process 2.3GHz, and one ran a Pentium Duo Processor at 3.0GHz, which one would be better?
spartanp1 is offline  
Old 09-21-2008, 09:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Noob CPU speed question?

Pentium Quad?! Core 2 Quad...

Can you show which specific quad's you're talking about and which duo's? Some are faster clock per clock in games or multitasking

Because Core 2 Quad's Q6 series are slower clock per clock compared to Q9xxx series, but those won't go as far in terms of overclocking..

e8/7/5 series Core 2 Duos and Pentiums are faster than e4/6/2 series Pentium Duals or Core 2 Duo's
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-21-2008, 09:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 12
Send a message via AIM to spartanp1
Default

Yeah sorry Im still not good with the lingo haha

Anyways, can you compare these two

Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz 2 x 4MB L2 Cache LGA 775 Quad-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops

Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16GHz 6MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops

Which ones better? How would you compare the two?

Ok I see the multi-tasking difference now, quad just breaks it up for playing multiple games or doing many thing, I got it.

So is 2 x 512KB pretty good, and whats the difference between that and 2 x 1MB
spartanp1 is offline  
Old 09-22-2008, 01:28 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: Noob CPU speed question?

ok so the e8500 has 2 cores, each running at 3.16@ stock settings
the q6600 has 4 cores, each runnig at 2.4 @ stock settings

its really give or take

right now a dual core like the e8500 will do better in most things because they are optimized for dual core cpu's. in the future more things will be optimized for quad core cpu's making the q6600 better in the future


now if u oc the q6600 to 3.16 the same as the e8500 at stock the e8500 will still prolly be faster cuz is the new 45nm, that is unless u are using a quad core optimized program

also if u want to overclock the e8500 is a godly overclocker ppl can run them up around 3.8-4.0+, the q6600 on the other hand, if u get a good one(low vid), can do around 3.6-3.7 but they get pretty hot.

another thing to think about is that the q6600's now days are more commonly coming with higher vids, so more ppl are spending more money to get a q6700 or q9550


btw a vid is the stock voltage ur cpu uses to operate, the lower the better, on a q6600 the lowest ive seen is a 1.20v vid(i had one ) but now they are rare to find when u buy one new. but if ur not gonna overclock vids dont really matter

so it come to this
dual core: better right now
quad core: better later
__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 09-22-2008, 04:28 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Noob CPU speed question?

pretty much in simple terms,
gaming - e8500
game and photoshop/editing/encoding - q6600

but do note that if your not going to overclock at all the e8500 probably is a better choice, a q6600 at stock isnt all the best for gaming.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 09-22-2008, 07:19 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 12
Send a message via AIM to spartanp1
Default Re: Noob CPU speed question?

Thanks guys. I think ill get the e8500
spartanp1 is offline  
Old 09-22-2008, 11:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Noob CPU speed question?

no problems
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Noob question..sorry but is the AC7 / 64 water cooled? Jtumble2 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 06-28-2008 04:30 PM
CPU Speed Changing? Speedstep and Cool and Quiet Technology Explained veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 22 02-25-2008 09:20 PM
Desktop Fans Speed HussRam Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 12-04-2007 01:00 PM
cpu cooler question? slopy2nds New Systems | Building and Buying 12 11-20-2007 11:59 PM
Noob Question waytoosmall Computer Audio and Multimedia 7 04-23-2007 07:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.