Non-SLI Core 2 Sys - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-25-2006, 02:09 PM   #11 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

there is alot of boards that have 2 pci express expansion slots.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...k=&srchInDesc=

theres 35 right htere and thats just intel
__________________

__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 10-25-2006, 02:26 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 40
Default

Yeah but they need to support conroe, so here is the list i came up with from newegg:

ABIT AW9D Socket T (LGA 775) Intel 975X ATX Intel Motherboard $189.99

MSI P965 Platinum Socket T (LGA 775) Intel P965 Express ATX Intel Motherboard $134.99

MSI 975X Platinum Socket T (LGA 775) Intel 975X ATX Intel Motherboard $169.99


ASUS P5B Deluxe Socket T (LGA 775) Intel P965 Express ATX Intel Motherboard $184.99

Which one is the best?
__________________

alphacooler is offline  
Old 10-25-2006, 03:34 PM   #13 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

personally i love my MSI 975X and i back it completley. so of course is uggest that or the Abit AW9d
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 10-25-2006, 03:44 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 40
Default

So since that has 2 pci express 16x slots I can just buy any two video cards and run them simultaneously for 3 LCD's?
alphacooler is offline  
Old 10-25-2006, 03:47 PM   #15 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

but, if your going to go with the 975x... DO NOT GET OCZ RAM.... i grabbed ocz ram and it would not boot... so if getting ram i would suggest corsair...

the msi 975x is very nice, its always running cool, and overclocks very nicely.. i havent had any problems with it yet....... well besides the first month of trying to get it to work.. lol
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-25-2006, 03:56 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 40
Default

I already have 2 gigs of OCZ ram pc2 6400. So maybe the MSI P965? or Abit board? Also keep in mind I won't be doing any overclocking?

Also to repeat the previous question. These boards with 2 pci express 16x slots, I just need to pick up 2 cards and I will be able to run 3 lcd's? So despite what was said earlier, SLI WON't WORK?
alphacooler is offline  
Old 10-25-2006, 04:17 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 218
Default

Just buy a cheap PCI video card

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814141035
Shando is offline  
Old 10-25-2006, 06:28 PM   #18 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

i belive someone in this thread already explained you wouldnt need sli to have 3 monitors
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 10-25-2006, 06:43 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 40
Default

Yes, I just want to make sure (esp considering some people said it is a *must* to have SLI and one guy said it's not) so i'm not out a bunch of change.

Thanks.
alphacooler is offline  
Old 10-25-2006, 07:42 PM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 40
Default

So anyone ever hear of problems with the MSI p965 platinum with OCZ ram?
__________________

alphacooler is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.