No signal error, on first boot. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-29-2006, 02:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Default No signal error, on first boot.

Just attempted to build my first good computer.

*MSI K8N Neo4-F SKT939 nForce4 chipset Dual DDR400 PCI-E ATX
*AMD (Venice) Athlon 64 3800+ 939pin 512Kb L2 Cache
*Kingston 1GB DDR PC3200 400MHz
*BFG 3DFuzion GeForce 7600 GT 256MB GDDR3
*Western Digital WD2500KS Caviar SE 250GB 7200RPM SATA2/300 16MB Cache
*Raidmax Ninja Blue with 500 Watt Psu.

Once i attempt to boot, i get a "no signal" error on my screen, ( tried my CRT and TFT screen same error )

All fans work ( 3 from case, cpu fan, gfx card fan)
Dvd-drive will open and close.
Tried my old PCI geforce fx5200 also the same error.

I need some help i have no idea what is wrong. thanks in advance
__________________

Enthrone is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 02:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
AMDSCOrPiO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 613
Default

Is there on-board video

When i built my sisters comp i had to take out the card and use the on board video to set up the bios for the new vid card, then i put it in and everything was fine
__________________

__________________
AMDSCOrPiO is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 02:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

reseat the ram and the CPU.
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 02:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 419
Default

does the computer beep? if so i also believe is the onboard is enable and u need to diasble. hopefully that helps.
efd753 is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 03:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

*MSI K8N Neo4-F SKT939 nForce4 chipset Dual DDR400 PCI-E ATX

do you people not read... that does not have onboard video...

anyway, do as nukem said.. check the ram.. switch is with ram from another computer to see if it boots... and also been said, does the computer beep?? depending on the beep it could be a good or bad thing...

if it ain't ram or vid card.. then you may have to rma your mobo
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 04:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Right, switching the ram around gave me 1 short beep at start up yet still no change from the no signal error.

i will change ram from this comp into my new one later tonight.
Enthrone is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 05:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
AMDSCOrPiO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 613
Default

did you try resetting the cmos (jumper or remove battery)
__________________
AMDSCOrPiO is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 05:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Using the cmos reset button on the mobo didnt work :/
__________________

Enthrone is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.