no power? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-13-2009, 07:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default no power?

ok i just got back from washington dc where i was on an internship for a week. i think i turned it off before i left. there was a massive storm in dallas while i was away. so i went to turn my computer on today, and nothing happens, no lights at all, nothing. the only light on is the one on the on/off switch on the back of the psu

there is no lights at all lit up on the motherboard, and pushing the power button does nothing at all. have any ideas? i didnt see any unplugged wires
__________________

__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 06-13-2009, 10:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: no power?

ok, switched out psu"s, and now it boots. here the dilemma though, the motherboard (750iftw) instantly goes to FF instead of the normal sequence of booting, and no display comes on, and niether my usb mouse or keyboard power up. any ideas?
__________________

__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 08:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: no power?

Quote:
ok, switched out psu"s, and now it boots.
Do you mean it boots, or POSTs?

And sorry, sounds like the board is fried to me, can't really think of what the problem could be other than that. And quite possibly your video/RAM too (though video less likely), you should try them in a different comp to check.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 01:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: no power?

Quote:
Originally Posted by taintedplay View Post
ok, switched out psu"s, and now it boots. here the dilemma though, the motherboard (750iftw) instantly goes to FF instead of the normal sequence of booting, and no display comes on, and niether my usb mouse or keyboard power up. any ideas?
have you tried reseting the CMOS?

and on my dads 790i ultra FF means Fully Functnal, according to the manual.

also try a different GFX card.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 05:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: no power?

tried new graphics card, no difference.

i mean like when i turned it on (when it worked) it went through many codes and when it finally got everything done and windows was loaded, it said FF. now it instantely goes to FF, so it doesent go through all the booting processes. I think the board is fried. il throw in the backup board i have.

im just surprised it fried everything when my computer wasent even on
__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 05:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: no power?

Quote:
Originally Posted by taintedplay View Post
im just surprised it fried everything when my computer wasent even on
Has happened to me as well; I even had mine plugged into a surge protector/battery backup. Unfortunately my BIOS got corrupted somehow... Now I've learned to unplug from the outlet during a storm heh.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old Power supply Guide (2008) Ste New Systems | Building and Buying 223 12-12-2009 09:05 PM
Computer won't power up at all. Kaliaila Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 01-15-2009 06:46 PM
power problems xbox122501 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 06-19-2008 05:53 PM
Power Supplies page006 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 05-22-2008 07:14 PM
Antec Sonata II Power Problem: BSoderstrom Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-12-2007 05:27 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.