No power ??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2008, 05:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 69
Default No power ???

Hi, Just after putting together my new build. When i turn the power on the fan in the psu turns for a second then stops. Any ideas ?
__________________

jaybe1 is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 05:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: No power ???

Did you connect the 4pin CPU power line?
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 06:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 69
Default Re: No power ???

Is it the cpu fan connection ?
jaybe1 is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 06:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 69
Default Re: No power ???

can anyone help me solve this problem ?
jaybe1 is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 06:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
PRVRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Blackfoot, Idaho
Posts: 379
Default Re: No power ???

What Peter was asking is if you hooked up the 4 or 8 pin power to the MB. There should be a 20 or 24 pin power connection and a 4 or 8 pin connection from the PSU to the MB.
__________________
PRVRT is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 06:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 69
Default Re: No power ???

oh right ye i did its the p35c-ds3r MB and have a corsair 620hx. First time building a pc so i was expecting something not to work.
jaybe1 is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 06:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 69
Default Re: No power ???

Any other idea ?
jaybe1 is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 07:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
PRVRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Blackfoot, Idaho
Posts: 379
Default Re: No power ???

Double check all your connections. Make sure you did not cut any wires on sharp edges and have a short. If nothing else, disconnect everything but the MB and power button and try that. If it turns on, then plug things in one at a time and restart.
__________________
PRVRT is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 07:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 69
Default Re: No power ???

GRand will try that so thanks for the reply. Just hope nothing is faulty
jaybe1 is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 08:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 69
Default Re: No power ???

Ok big problems now. I have an antec 900 case and thought that you connect all the fans together then the molex power to them then connect the molex to system fan on the motherboard to them. Smoke started coming out of the pc and melted the molex to sys fan wire. What did i do wrong ?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg New Image.JPG (81.0 KB, 19 views)
File Type: jpg fan (Small).JPG (87.7 KB, 19 views)
__________________

jaybe1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell desktop won't power up - blinking orange light - power supply? VgRt6 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 21 12-23-2009 09:27 AM
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Power supply issues - Dell inspiron 531 Yuffles System Upgrades 16 02-17-2008 03:59 PM
Built a new computer...NO POWER!!! HELP!!! imconfused System Upgrades 33 11-26-2007 08:32 PM
Echo Star 600W 20+4 Pin ATX Power Supply commandercup New Systems | Building and Buying 3 09-04-2007 07:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.