No Post!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-27-2006, 08:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 32
Default No Post!!

my system is not posting at all. i am building a computer. here are the specs:

motherboard: asus a8n-sli
cpu: amd 4400
gfx card: evga nvidia 6800
psupply: antec truepower 2.0 550

any suggestions?

i have the main power connector hooked up and also the atx12v 4-pin connector.
__________________

bigredx24x is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 08:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 419
Default

what beeps u getting? do u have the ram installed?
__________________

efd753 is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 08:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 32
Default

thats the thing, no beeps whatsoever

yes, i have two 512 sticks of ram installed: crucial twinx1024-3200c2pt
bigredx24x is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 08:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default

check:-wall plug is firmly in socket
the PSU is on and on the correct voltage
you have plugged the power into the mobo properly
you have wired up the "on" button correctly
you have wired up the system speaker correctly/ installed the LED thing properly
you have installed the graphics card properly
you have the monitor plugged in properly

thats it for now
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 08:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 32
Default

i have to install a system speaker?
bigredx24x is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 08:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default

yeah, it should have come with the case, you got to plug it into the mobo if you want to hear beeps
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 08:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 32
Default

i have the p180 case and cannot find any case speaker
bigredx24x is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 08:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default

what can i say? i guess Antec didnt think it was necessary to supply this. did your mobo come with an LED thing?
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 09:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 32
Default

do you have an aim sn?

yes, it has a mobo LED. two, in fact. one is a standy power led and one is a warn led

the standby power led lights up green and the warn led does not light up
bigredx24x is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 10:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 734
Send a message via AIM to iam_not_2fast4u
Default

are you over clocking?
__________________

__________________

RIP Flanker: 07-31-2005 - 03-03-2006 09:17 AM
iam_not_2fast4u is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.