no more amd 4400's? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-28-2006, 08:13 PM   #11 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

o, ok so the ht just slows down to match the cpu. I am looking at the opteron 175 denmark as an equivalant now instead.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 08:15 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 258
Send a message via AIM to KNiGHTMaRe89
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by b1gapl
Well they have the X2 3800+ for $150 at zipzoomfly.com
i dont see it for 150 at zipzoomfly. they have it for 184 and its out of stock. no telling when it will come in. its been out of stock for 2 months.
__________________

KNiGHTMaRe89 is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 08:16 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

I own the Opteron 175 Denmark my self. It is AWESOME for games such as css half life 2, doom, F.E.A.R whatever. And it overclocks very well too.


It is an amazing processor. I Highly recommend it.
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 08:40 PM   #14 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

alrighty then. This makes me happy. I dont have to drop ~$500 to switch to a c2d.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 08:55 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 566
Send a message via AIM to reckliss
Default

175 has a higher multiplier then a 165 right? If you wanna save cash get a 165.
reckliss is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 09:58 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
UA_Iron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857
Default

my 4200+ (which I got for 160 open box on newegg) does 2.6ghz stable at 1.45 vcore. It runs at 29-30C idle and 40C prime95. Really happy with it so far.

I think I could squeeze a lot more out of it if I wasnt running it on a better mobo.
__________________

UA_Iron is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.