Nforce or Via? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-03-2007, 03:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 62
Default Nforce or Via?

After doing some reading here I've noticed that the nforce motherboards are a lot more popular, but the Via boards are generally cheaper. So, other than perhaps quality, what is the main reason to favor nforce over via? I'm guessing that via is lousy at overclocking, but having done very little overclocking myself I'm not too sure. I'm thinking about a purchase and want to make a good decision. Thanks
__________________

eipnvn is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 03:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Nforce or Via?

VIA chipsets work, NVIDIA work better. yes, overclocking is one thing VIA suck at, but if you are going with onboard graphics, there is no comparison between the two. NVIDIA all the way.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 03:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 62
Default Re: Nforce or Via?

nah, no onboard graphics, it's going to be a 7900 at least for me - I'm planning on overclocking though, so it sounds like I should go for the nforce.
eipnvn is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 03:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Nforce or Via?

Nforce owns.. VIA is just crap (i should know my p4x-266 is a VIA chipset)
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Biostar TF560 A2+: Overclocking NVIDIA's new nForce 560 veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 08-02-2007 06:37 PM
nForce 550 MCP to a nforce 570 SLI MCP??? shan1784 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 06-08-2007 11:47 AM
Asus P5N32-E nForce 680i vs P5N-E nForce 650i Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 20 06-06-2007 12:32 PM
Save up to $30 when you buy an AMD CPU and nForce motherboard! veg1992 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 0 05-18-2007 10:22 PM
nforce chipset driver version... b1gapl Overclocking and Modding 5 03-26-2007 11:27 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.