Nforce 680 boards - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-12-2006, 08:00 PM   #11 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

it depends on the chipset like nforce 570 is 8x by 8x sli and 590 is 16x by 16x

and why pay that much extra for a watercooled edition when you could water cool it your self? it may not be cheaper by much but usually it does have better performance then the stock

and also those blue tooth keyboards are horrible for gaming
__________________

__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 11-12-2006, 08:12 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

so wait are pci-e cards running at 16x than ? are some doing it and some arnt? im jsut al il confused on that
__________________

__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 11-12-2006, 08:16 PM   #13 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

on nforce 570 boards one card in the primary pcie slot will run at 16x, but with 2 cards they will both only run at 8x speeds.
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 11-12-2006, 08:30 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

ooo ok ... so sli wont be as good on that chipset then? thats weird ....
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 11-12-2006, 08:33 PM   #15 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

well 680i chipsets have 16x sli and a third pcie slot for physics cards that run on 8x
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 11-12-2006, 08:40 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

what does pci run at than ? whats the sense of running it in a 16x slot but running it at 8x? are things getting 2 fast?
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 11-12-2006, 09:16 PM   #17 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default

Some nForce4 SLI boards use x16 SLI, but most use x8. The Lanparty's use x8.

The MSI K8N Diamond Pro is 2x16 SLI, as well some others.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.