Next gaming rig purchase - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-18-2013, 11:46 AM   #11 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default Re: Next gaming rig purchase

It doesn't require any form of audio card. It is digitally sent through an audio passthrough driver (when you install your 680 the drivers will say Nvidia HD audio) which is digitally sent through the HDMI cable to your receiver. When you plug in your HDMI cable to your receiver when you go to sound settings you'll see HDMI output which should automatically be selected under Windows 7.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 06:20 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 351
Default Re: Next gaming rig purchase

wow, had no idea, thanks!

so just to confirm, using that option in the driver will allow the sound from my X-fi to be passed directly through video card output into receiver? Just checkig this due to your comment "It doesn't require any form of audio card". Checking what you said there.
__________________

espeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 06:22 PM   #13 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default Re: Next gaming rig purchase

That's the easiest way to get pure digital signal to your receiver, but for your headphones I suggest at least the FiiO E17k. I'm just assuming you have a high quality set of cans, and not something under 100 bucks.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 06:25 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 351
Default Re: Next gaming rig purchase

yep audio technica 500 series, not to cheap.....
espeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 06:26 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 351
Default Re: Next gaming rig purchase

i made an edit to my post from 10:20pm, are you able to check and comment? cheers
espeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 06:31 PM   #16 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default Re: Next gaming rig purchase

HDMI audio is independent of audio cards completely. As in, there requires NO use of an audio card. You select HDMI as your output and it bypasses everything. Game/movie/music makes sound, it passes through your video card through the HDMI cable straight to your receiver. No compression, no congestion, no use of DAC (besides in your receiver itself).

So if you did that, and got a device like the FiiO and hooked your headphones up you can take the SB out and disable onboard. Hook the FiiO up via USB for a DAC/Headphone amp for your headphones, and HDMI straight to your receiver for 7.1/5.1 surround sound. All you need to do for swapping is select an option in Windows.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 06:58 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 351
Default Re: Next gaming rig purchase

got it, thanks
espeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 05:57 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 351
Default Re: Next gaming rig purchase

sadly, my crappy DVI to HDMI cable doesnt support audio. Only realised this after 3 hours or so of trying to figure out why my HDMI audio kept saying 'unplugged'. I have to buy this special dvi-hdmi adapter provided by the graphics card manufacturer which allows audio to be passed via this method. Thought id mention here so it may help someone else in this position.
espeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 07:34 PM   #19 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default Re: Next gaming rig purchase

Quote:
Originally Posted by espeed View Post
sadly, my crappy DVI to HDMI cable doesnt support audio. Only realised this after 3 hours or so of trying to figure out why my HDMI audio kept saying 'unplugged'. I have to buy this special dvi-hdmi adapter provided by the graphics card manufacturer which allows audio to be passed via this method. Thought id mention here so it may help someone else in this position.
There already should have been that adapter in the box with your video card.

A standard HDMI cable would be the best bet though.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 04:55 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 351
Default Re: Next gaming rig purchase

Not with 4870x2 cards, the adapter that comes with this card is a DVI-VGA if i remember. As the card doesnt have HDMI ports, i cant use a standard HDMI cable as nice and easy as that sounds
__________________

espeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.