Next build - $900 budget - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-17-2005, 06:34 PM   #21 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 236
Default

Did you even look at the graphs in the first link I provided? When they left the CPU at the stock multiplier (12), the EPoX was able to reach a higher FSB (242). Now that's only 4 higher than the DFI, but notice in my original post, I said the EPoX was "slightly" better.

However, when you lower the multiplier, the DFI was able to reach a higher FSB (318 compared to the EPoX's 302).
__________________

beardo526 is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 06:47 PM   #22 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 39
Send a message via AIM to banefulassasin
Default

thanks alex.

and beardo is right on this one, because he meant that the epox was better at the stock multiplier. dfi is better when you lower the multiplier.
__________________

banefulassasin is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 06:56 PM   #23 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

it just depends. cpu and the ram.
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 07:11 PM   #24 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 39
Send a message via AIM to banefulassasin
Default

true. but hey, i cant tell if the psu ive selected has +12v@20a. here is the fortron 450W. so does it have +12v@20a?
if it doesnt, than what is a solid psu with +12v@20a that's around my $50 price tag?
banefulassasin is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 07:14 PM   #25 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 236
Default

How does it depend on the CPU and the RAM? They used top of the line stuff for the CPU and RAM, so it's not an issue. Why would a reputable site like Anandtech give misleading information?

EDIT: banefulassasin: scroll down to the bottom of the page where it lists the "output" specification. Notice it says "+12V1@18A, +12V2@18A." This means you have two 12 volt rails, one at 18 amps, and the other at 18 amps also. Add them together and you get 36 amps. You're good to go.
beardo526 is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 08:56 PM   #26 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 39
Send a message via AIM to banefulassasin
Default

okay thanks a ton!
banefulassasin is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 06:52 AM   #27 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

it depends, i mean does evyerone here have the top of the line system fx series some OCZ 500 dollar ram or what not no. so the epox board isnt going to compete the same with the DFI one.

the psu is good

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103924

do you have money

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103930
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 04:33 PM   #28 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 39
Send a message via AIM to banefulassasin
Default

right now i have enough money for what i have listed and thats it. around christmas ill probably have enough to go for the sli version of the mobo, and 2GBs of ram instead of 1.5. I'm not sure if that will leave me anymore for a better psu. but the fortron 450W is pretty good anyway.
banefulassasin is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 05:39 PM   #29 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 236
Default

They also used the same CPU and RAM on each motherboard in the test setup. The motherboard was the only thing that changed, so if the CPU and RAM is the problem, it's the same problem for all the motherboards in the test. The motherboard is the only variable. I assumed you were smart enough to figure that out; however, you're still missing the point. I never just flat out said that the EPoX was better. I gave a specific example. Look at the graphs. I'm not making it up when I say the EPoX beat the DFI in overclocking when the stock CPU multiplier was used.
beardo526 is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 05:42 PM   #30 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

well im just saying epox wont be best for everyoen, sense not everyone has high end stuff on everything especiall when you only have a 900 dollar budget.
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.