Newly Built PC, DVD-RW Problems. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-23-2007, 08:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Default Newly Built PC, DVD-RW Problems.

I just built a new PC yesterday (my first time), went from a 2400+ XP, 500 MB SDRAM (Yes. SDRAM) and a crappy 5200FX to:

e4300 Core 2 Duo
Gigabyte 965 DS3
8800 GTS
Corsair 2 GB Dual Channel Ram
320 GB SATA Drive

Everything powers on fine, but my DVD-RW doesn't work correctly. I've tried 2 different ones (I took from my old computer) and both "work" but don't read my Windows XP disc correctly, and i got the system disk error. They both work in my old computer flawlessly, so I think It's something with the Mobo or BIOS. Maybe i got to set a setting? I read that this MOBO doesn't have good support for IDE? BIOS does recognize the drive.

I'd appreciate some help, as I'm very antsy and I want to use my new PC. I hate my old one. :beard:

Thank you.

theace1 is offline  
Old 02-23-2007, 09:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 202

man heres what i think is wrong ..
the data cable from the mobo to ur dvd rom and hard disk
heres how to plug them ..
on the primary cable .. plug the dvd rom (make it master ) and any other dvd u have ..
the secondary .. plug the hd on it .. and make it master ..
that way it will work nicly .. make sure to tell me what happens !

plz god .. if u cant make me thin ..
make all my friends very fat !
JinkX is offline  
Old 02-23-2007, 10:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4

I have a SATA HD and a IDE DVD-RW.
theace1 is offline  
Old 02-23-2007, 10:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
HAVOC's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC

Check the back of the DVD drive for jumpers. Make sure that the jumper is set to Master and make sure the IDE cable is connected to the primary IDE channel.

Also, sometimes, i've seen a weird thing with IDE drives were with SATA HDD's the IDE's only work on "cable select" jumpers.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 02-23-2007, 01:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4

Thanks for the help.

I got it to work, however after I install the Windows set up files (the blue screen part) and it restarts, It goes straight back to the blue setup screen.

I tried booting it from the hard drive but it just restarts.

The cables are installed correct but I think I'm supposed to change a setting somewhere in the BIOS.

theace1 is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 01:23 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4

I'm about to seriously give up. :bald:

I can still get it through the setup but when the PC restarts it doesn't boot off the hard drive to finish the installation. I've also did the f6 SATA floppy thing as well.

I really need some help.

theace1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:06 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.