Newbie tries to build gaming rig...

Status
Not open for further replies.

mliraved

Baseband Member
Come point and laugh! :D

I started a thread yesterday asking for opinions on two pre-made PCs I was thinking of buying. The posters in that thread were so helpful that I decided to try building my own. I'm very new at this, so I have no idea if the components I've selected are compatible with each other, if they'll fit in the case I selected, etc. I pretty much selected things I saw had high ratings on newegg.com.

I'm looking for a PC that can handle most of what I throw at it for the next ~3 years. I'm willing to spend around $1000 on everything excluding the monitor, mouse, and keyboard. I play WoW mostly, but can see myself getting into more graphics intensive games if my system allowed it (which it certainly doesn't right now).

CPU
I keep reading about how great the i7 is, and this is the cheapest model I could find on Newegg:

Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz x 256KB ($288.99)
Newegg.com - Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem 2.66GHz 4 x 256KB L2 Cache 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops

It's much more expensive than the CPU I was previously considering:

AMD Phenom II X3 720 2.8GHz 3 x 512KB ($145)
Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X3 720 2.8GHz 3 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 95W Triple-Core Black Processor - Processors - Desktops

Is it really worth it to spend 140 bucks more on an i7, or will the Phenom last me a long time?

Motherboard
No idea. Seems everything I find on Newegg has mediocre reviews. I'd like some advice.

RAM
G.SKILL PI Black 4GB (2x2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM ($49.99)
Newegg.com - G.SKILL PI Black 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

Should I be going for 6GB or stick with 4GB?

Video Card
Radeon HD 4870 1GB ($189.99)