Newbie here with some questions!

Status
Not open for further replies.
yeah it's the 6600. I was figuring on just running everything as it comes, IE processor, vid card, etc.

as for a motherboard to house this processor, where whould I look? Does it make a difference which case I use?

gsteffens said:
as for a motherboard to house this processor, where whould I look? Does it make a difference which case I use?
Again, look at my http://www.techist.com/forums/f76/recommended-pc-components-159027/ guide, according to your budget, under Intel motherboards.

It sometimes makes a difference which case you use, but mostly not. Just make sure that the case is able to support at least form factor mATX and ATX, or just ATX. These form factors are the size standards for the motherboards.

Okay guys, here is a list I came up with after reading a bunch of threads and reviews. Let me know what ya think. The only one I have so far is the processor. Just waiting for my online banking to go through (always has a few day delay on stuff) so I can order up the case.

1. Newegg.com - Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail
(Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail)
2. Newegg.com - SAMSUNG Black 20X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 16X DVD+R DL 20X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 12X DVD-RAM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM 2MB Cache SATA 20X DVD±R DVD Burner with LightScribe - OEM
(samsung DVD burner)
3. Antec NeoPower 550 ATX12V 550W Power Supply
(Newegg.com - Antec NeoPower 550 ATX12V 550W Power Supply 100 - 240 V UL, CUL, TUV, CE, FCC, CCC, CB, C-tick - Retail)
4. Newegg.com - Patriot Extreme Performance 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
(Patriot Extreme Performance 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail)