newb question - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-15-2006, 05:49 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 13
Default

I was talking to a friend of mine and he said if you change any major parts your windows xp won't work there is a thing in there to where it recognizes the hardware like the mobo and cpu and such the main things and when there is new ones it wont work. It was supposibly set up this way to keep large corporation safe from people steeling the hardrives and dumbing the info on there home machine.

I haven't been able to test this out yet fully i did install xp on a hardrive then put that hdd in another computer and it would just lock up and not go anywhere so i had to reinstall it with the hardrives original pc. It woul'd only go to the black screen you get when hitting f8. you know the one i'm talking about.
__________________

scottyy360 is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 06:12 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

It will work, but I would advise against it. Especially when changing out a major part like the motherboard I would (personally) always do a format and clean install of windows after installing the motherboard.

You could swap out CPUs and be fine, you could even upgrade your video card as long as you went from nvidia to another nvidia.

Scottyy - your friend is pretty much incorrect. The system will work as I've done it before when I was lazy in the past. However the chances of you having weird issues with the computer or driver conflicts would definitely be increased. There is nothing in XP though that 'recognizes' the parts and then when 'sensing' something else decides not to work.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 06:48 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

I was talking to a friend of mine and he said if you change any major parts your windows xp won't work there is a thing in there to where it recognizes the hardware like the mobo and cpu and such the main things and when there is new ones it wont work. It was supposibly set up this way to keep large corporation safe from people steeling the hardrives and dumbing the info on there home machine.

As said by Nubius, he is incorrect... to a point. On older systems there was a key lock between the restoration CD and the HDD chipset/BIOS. This was NOT the original XP cd, but a manu CD like Gateway. I don't think they lock it down anymore, but at one time they did. If the hardware ID did not match what the security ID on the drive had, then install was a no go and you would get the error: This is not a Gateway machine.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 08:15 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 13
Default

ok thanks for clearing that up and it ways an older dell that i had done that too so that may have been way.

thanks.
__________________

scottyy360 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.