Newb PSU Qs' - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-31-2005, 01:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 78
Default Newb PSU Qs'

I've been researching for a new PSU. In my efforts I've seen alot of information on the subject. Question is (are), I calculated my wattage using the link somewhere else. The calculator figured my needs were around 280w. Now I know my current PSU is rated 330w, but what benefit would I get from a new 500+ watt PSU?. Why won't a 330 be good enoungh other than the fact that I'm close to maxing out and loading the PSU to it's limit? Do things run better or perform better (i.e.-video, CPU, overall speed) when your not close to the limit of the PSU? I know heating is an issue, but is there power bleed when a PSU is pushing it?

I'm still getting a new PSU. But curious on what happens with a PSU when it's stressed.
__________________

__________________
[size=1]Antec Case w/Antec TruePower 2.0 430w
DFI LanParty Pro875 rev. A
P4 3.0@ 3.31 w/Zalman CNPS9500LED w/AS5
Corsair XMS3200 1gb (2x512) @ 245 2.5,3,3,6
WD 150GB SATA
SoundBlaster Auidgy 4 w/ Logitech x530
EVGA Geforce 7600GS 438/435
ffmedic12 is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 02:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

well having just stared to understand PSUs my self i know that wattage doesnt mean very much, jut make sure you have the minium anything above that will just be reduced to what is needed, therfor you would not beneft from a 500w.
what is inportant howver is the ampage, they say you should not have anything below 24A for a gamning pc, you should aim for around 30A (on the 12v rail), but if not gaiming i dont think anything below 18.

and also if you plan on upgrading moreso then get a hight wattage psu.

hope thats all right
__________________

harry18 is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 02:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Newb PSU Qs'

Quote:
Originally posted by ffmedic12
I've been researching for a new PSU. In my efforts I've seen alot of information on the subject. Question is (are), I calculated my wattage using the link somewhere else. The calculator figured my needs were around 280w. Now I know my current PSU is rated 330w, but what benefit would I get from a new 500+ watt PSU?. Why won't a 330 be good enoungh other than the fact that I'm close to maxing out and loading the PSU to it's limit? Do things run better or perform better (i.e.-video, CPU, overall speed) when your not close to the limit of the PSU? I know heating is an issue, but is there power bleed when a PSU is pushing it?

I'm still getting a new PSU. But curious on what happens with a PSU when it's stressed.
Theres no reason to buy a new power supply unless you are having problems, IE< Restarting. Poor preformence, Etc. Or you plan On upgrading.

However since you probably have a generic (Came with Case) power supply, they probably are listing it at peak wattage, not continious.

So If you want a to buy a new power supply your Components would benifit only in that, there would be more room for expansion and that Voltage and amps are more stable. If you are really concerned you could get a DMM and test the voltages and amps on all your rails.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 02:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 78
Default

I was looking at upgrading from the point of gaming. I'm no longer able to run newer games (COD2) at the best possible res. or settings. On a previous post, I asked for advice on what to upgrade. Main thing was my video. But some also noted that PSU was lacking. Yes, the PSU came w/case. I'm just trying to do some minor upgrades to help improve performance before I have to build a new rig here in the next year or so.

How do you like the evga 6800? I was looking at this one:

http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...uctCode=322276
__________________
[size=1]Antec Case w/Antec TruePower 2.0 430w
DFI LanParty Pro875 rev. A
P4 3.0@ 3.31 w/Zalman CNPS9500LED w/AS5
Corsair XMS3200 1gb (2x512) @ 245 2.5,3,3,6
WD 150GB SATA
SoundBlaster Auidgy 4 w/ Logitech x530
EVGA Geforce 7600GS 438/435
ffmedic12 is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 02:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

If you have the money, the 6800 GS is tops for AGP. But if you want a new power supply, whats your budget?
Ste is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 02:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 78
Default

Budget not really a concern. I'm willing to go with a PSU and video within reason. I guess maybe 120-180 on video and around 150 on the PSU.
__________________
[size=1]Antec Case w/Antec TruePower 2.0 430w
DFI LanParty Pro875 rev. A
P4 3.0@ 3.31 w/Zalman CNPS9500LED w/AS5
Corsair XMS3200 1gb (2x512) @ 245 2.5,3,3,6
WD 150GB SATA
SoundBlaster Auidgy 4 w/ Logitech x530
EVGA Geforce 7600GS 438/435
ffmedic12 is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 02:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 78
Default

I'm not really finding any 6800s AGP out there. I found these two I thought might be good. Not sure if my system could handle these.

Would I see any difference bwtn 128mb and 256mb video?

http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16814130220

www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16814125179

Or should I go with something like this.

http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...uctCode=322276

I'm not sure if my system would take advantage of DDR3 128mb vs DDR 256mb.
__________________
[size=1]Antec Case w/Antec TruePower 2.0 430w
DFI LanParty Pro875 rev. A
P4 3.0@ 3.31 w/Zalman CNPS9500LED w/AS5
Corsair XMS3200 1gb (2x512) @ 245 2.5,3,3,6
WD 150GB SATA
SoundBlaster Auidgy 4 w/ Logitech x530
EVGA Geforce 7600GS 438/435
ffmedic12 is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 03:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Im no expert on video cards so wait for someone else in that area.

As for power supply.

If you want to spend 148$

Want to spend 118$
Ste is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 03:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 78
Default

Also I noticed the Gigabyte 6600GT required an Intel P4 Prescott processor. I have a Northwood. Does that make a diff? I know these are newb questions, but I'm learning!
__________________
[size=1]Antec Case w/Antec TruePower 2.0 430w
DFI LanParty Pro875 rev. A
P4 3.0@ 3.31 w/Zalman CNPS9500LED w/AS5
Corsair XMS3200 1gb (2x512) @ 245 2.5,3,3,6
WD 150GB SATA
SoundBlaster Auidgy 4 w/ Logitech x530
EVGA Geforce 7600GS 438/435
ffmedic12 is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 03:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Any Video card will work with any CPU. It doesn't matter.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.