New Video Cards and SLI - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-05-2008, 11:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
WWS
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 270
Default New Video Cards and SLI

I just got two 9800GTX+ and I am having trouble getting them to work in SLI mode. I have reinstalled the video card drivers, updated nForce drivers, reinstalled DirectX. Is there something I am missing? Has anyone else had these problems and could give some tips to fix the problem?

Single card works just fine getting high frame rates, in SLI I get about 10-15 fps then the application will crash with an error saying not enough display memory to render.

thanks for any help.
__________________

__________________
12 Gb GSkill DDR3 Tripple Channel
2 500 Gb SATA II HD
2 BluRay Burners
2 9800GTX+ in SLI
ASUS Rampage II Extreme
Intel Core i7 920 @3.8 GHz
WWS is offline  
Old 10-06-2008, 05:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: New Video Cards and SLI

so are u saying that u can get sli enabled but when u do u get a mega fps drop and system crashes?
__________________

__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 10-07-2008, 12:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
WWS
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 270
Default Re: New Video Cards and SLI

The game crashes not the system. One card works great, but SLI does not work very well.
__________________
12 Gb GSkill DDR3 Tripple Channel
2 500 Gb SATA II HD
2 BluRay Burners
2 9800GTX+ in SLI
ASUS Rampage II Extreme
Intel Core i7 920 @3.8 GHz
WWS is offline  
Old 10-07-2008, 12:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: New Video Cards and SLI

what psu do u have?
__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 10-07-2008, 01:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: New Video Cards and SLI

Try reversing the cards, going by the error its possible one card is damaged/bad.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 10-07-2008, 01:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
What choice did I have?..
 
SuxoR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: TX (Soon CA)
Posts: 412
Send a message via AIM to SuxoR
Default Re: New Video Cards and SLI

Post your PSU it might not be enough for both cards
SuxoR is offline  
Old 10-09-2008, 10:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
WWS
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 270
Default Re: New Video Cards and SLI

I have a 1000W SLI ready psu and its working fine. I am thinking it could be XP64. The manufacturer said it should work fine with my system and XP64. I guess I will try using just XP.
__________________
12 Gb GSkill DDR3 Tripple Channel
2 500 Gb SATA II HD
2 BluRay Burners
2 9800GTX+ in SLI
ASUS Rampage II Extreme
Intel Core i7 920 @3.8 GHz
WWS is offline  
Old 10-09-2008, 10:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: New Video Cards and SLI

im using xp 64 and my sli is workin fine, make sure u have all ur drivers up to date, and make sure u got the 64 bit ones.
__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 10-10-2008, 07:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
WWS
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 270
Default Re: New Video Cards and SLI

My motherboard is about 3 years old and with the updated 64bit drivers it is still giving me problems in SLI. I am wondering if it is my motherboard? Eventhough BFG tech support said SLI should work fine.
__________________
12 Gb GSkill DDR3 Tripple Channel
2 500 Gb SATA II HD
2 BluRay Burners
2 9800GTX+ in SLI
ASUS Rampage II Extreme
Intel Core i7 920 @3.8 GHz
WWS is offline  
Old 10-11-2008, 01:25 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: New Video Cards and SLI

try callin evga, just say ur cards are evga and not bfg, they helped me w/ my sli problem.
__________________

__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What To Look For When Buying Computer Components Luke Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 25 01-07-2009 09:09 PM
SLI Two Video Cards Same? Doom10320 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 07-09-2008 09:10 AM
Low cost video card recommendation Okitasoshi New Systems | Building and Buying 36 05-27-2008 02:22 PM
SLI ready RAM? Is it any better? What does SLI mean for RAM? StealthTools Overclocking and Modding 12 04-17-2008 09:27 PM
video cards lemonfrost System Upgrades 9 11-09-2007 02:49 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.