New Video Card + RAM. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-05-2008, 07:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 75
Default New Video Card + RAM.

Hey!

I currently have an XPS 410... specs:
- Vista Home Premium (32 Bit)
- 2Gig RAM
- Intel Core 2 Duo 6300 1.86GHz

Current Video Card - NVIDIA GeForce 7300 LE
- PCI Express (64-Bit)

I was hoping to upgrade my video card to... (or something along these lines)
Newegg.com - EVGA 512-P3-N801-AR GeForce 8800GT 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards

My PSU tells me DC OUTPUT - 375W

Will my PSU allow that card to run adequately? (Or are there other factors that play a role, other then just Watts)

Next part.. the RAM.

Like it says above, I currently have 2Gigs of RAM already, I'm looking to add 2 more.

A crucial.com scan tells me:
Quote:
Each memory slot can hold DDR2 PC2-4200, DDR2 PC2-5300, DDR2 PC2-6400 with a maximum of 1GB per slot.*
So I was hoping someone could send me a link to a quality, somewhat cheap set of sticks to buy that meet those requirements.

I found this: (Is G.SKILL well known to make a good product, I read a few reviews.. like your opinions as well)
Newegg.com - G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
__________________

yo1mcool is offline  
Old 05-05-2008, 07:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: New Video Card + RAM.

might be able to handle a single card.

if you are going to upgrade ram, it'd be best to get another 2 gb of the EXACT sticks you already have

(btw windows vista 32 bit will only pick up 3.5gbish of ram, not the full 4gb)
__________________

wafflehammer is offline  
Old 05-05-2008, 07:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 75
Default Re: New Video Card + RAM.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wafflehammer View Post
(btw windows vista 32 bit will only pick up 3.5gbish of ram, not the full 4gb)
Yea, I've read about that... but that's fine.

How can I find out what my sticks are exactly? Is there a website/program/scanner that can help me out on that?

Or is it best just to take out one of the sticks and just look at that?
yo1mcool is offline  
Old 05-05-2008, 07:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: New Video Card + RAM.

Try Crucial's Program it tells you what type your sticks are

Memory upgrades from Crucial.com - About Crucial:Media Toolbox
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-05-2008, 07:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 75
Default Re: New Video Card + RAM.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
Try Crucial's Program it tells you what type your sticks are

Memory upgrades from Crucial.com - About Crucial:Media Toolbox
I did already, it was included in my initial post.

I assumed waffle meant exactly the same, like same brand and all.
yo1mcool is offline  
Old 05-05-2008, 07:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: New Video Card + RAM.

Oh didn't see that... stupid low resolution.... didn't scroll down

but you could just do with normal Wintec AMPX ram, they are good, and they are pretty good for their D9 Micron's (even though you can't overclock period with a Dell)

I need more info about your PSU like Amps on the 12v Rails, because wattage tells bull
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-05-2008, 08:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 75
Default Re: New Video Card + RAM.

I took a picture of the sticker on the side of my PSU

Hopefully this can help you out.

http://img146.imageshack.us/img146/1620/psucb0.png
yo1mcool is offline  
Old 05-05-2008, 08:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: New Video Card + RAM.

18A? wow... thats barely 6 more than what my old P4 had, thats definitely too little

you need a new PSU, check out PC Power and Cooling's Dell Upgrade PSU's
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-05-2008, 08:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 75
Default Re: New Video Card + RAM.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
18A? wow... thats barely 6 more than what my old P4 had, thats definitely too little

you need a new PSU, check out PC Power and Cooling's Dell Upgrade PSU's
Any that you might recommend?

Any help that I can get is awesome, and thanks for what you have done for me so far.
yo1mcool is offline  
Old 05-05-2008, 08:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: New Video Card + RAM.

Silencer 500 Dell

Thats the best one available... wtf....

Dell Upgrade Power Supplies from PC Power & Cooling

thats a whole list
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Old School Video Card Badgerme New Systems | Building and Buying 4 02-21-2008 01:13 PM
Adequate Sub $100 Video Card? mcovalt New Systems | Building and Buying 16 02-18-2008 11:59 PM
Lower Video Card noise by reducing the fan speed Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 01-01-2008 12:53 PM
Possible video card issue -- ATI X1650 houndofspace Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 12-04-2007 02:17 AM
This video card or that video card? ArchisT New Systems | Building and Buying 21 07-11-2007 06:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.