new video card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-16-2006, 02:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 219
Default new video card

ok, I plan on upgading from my x600 pci e 256 mb ati card to a new nvidia card. i just have 2 questions.

1) how hard is it to switch from an ati to a nvidia card in terms of drivers and programs on your computer?

2) would the 6800 gs be the biggest bang for my buck especially this one.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130271

or

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130265

i don't plan on getting the 7800gt so please don't reccomend that one as it is to expensive. thanks for any help.
__________________

luke87 is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 06:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 90
Default

EVGA all da way
__________________

juststarting123 is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 06:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 219
Default

thanks for that comment......

but , can anyone else help?
luke87 is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 06:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
kahlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gloucestershire, England
Posts: 189
Default

The best bang for buck card at the moment is Sapphires X800GTO2. I have one my self. You only want it though if you are going to OC and unlock it. As standered it is as good as a normal X800GTO but the GTO2's are build using the same core as the X850XTPE which costs twice as much. . So basically the X800GTO2 is a X850XTPE repackaged and repriced. But the GTO2 has been downclocked and had 4 pixel pipelines disabled. So all you have to do is change the bios on the card (very very easy) to the X850XTPE bios and change the clock speed to the X850XTPE speeds (and ferther) and you have a X850XTPE. You need to get a different cooler for the GTO2 as the one which is already on it is not a dual slot cooler (a big one used on the X850XTPE) so you just have to fit a good one (deffinatly the best is Arctic Cools ATI Silencer 5). It is better than the 6800GS by quite a long shot. The GTO2 costs around £120 new which is $200. If you want better performence for less get the GTO2 . Works perfectly in mine. Runs everything full detail. But obviously you have to OC and unlock it if you are going to get one. If you still want the 6800GS (cause you don't wanna OC) then its really easy to change drivers. Just uninstall the ATI ones and delete the registrys. Then install the nivida ones. Hey presto . But i would seriously check the GTO2 out before you buy the 6800GS. Heres a link for newegg . Oh and by the way the latest shipment of GTO2's have had 16 pipelines as defult so no need to change the bios Seems that Sapphire have left the X800 and X850 series to die
__________________
www.xenocide.shockv2.com
Join the metal/rock revolution.
kahlos is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 07:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Yep its true the GTO2 unlocks to XTPE but you also might want to look into the 7800GS (not the GT)
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 07:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3
Default I switched

I went from Nvidia to an ATI and I had no problems.
Just removed old drivers and installed the new ones..
dmc535 is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 07:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 219
Default

might sound dumb, but isnt the 7800gs only agp. i am looking for a pci-e card. also, does the x800gto have shadermodel 3.0 and all the features that the 6800gs has, becuase i can not find that out from the descriptions.

on a side note, i do not really plan on oc'ing. so is the 6800gs better unclocked then the x800gto2?
luke87 is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 07:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default

The 6800GS is the better way to go because the PCI-E version can OC like mad. It has SM3 and the ATI cards dont (besides the X1800and above). eVGA 6800GS man.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 07:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 961
Default

What's the big thing that shader model 3 lets you do? So far the only difference I've seen is the ability to turn on soft shadows. When you have soft shadows however, you frame rate goes in the trash can so I keep it off anyways. What else does it do?
__________________
A+ certified.
I now am on the interweb:
www.thescurvyshack.com
Mr_Threepwood is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 08:11 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

i dont know what else it does but the 7800gs is pci-e and agp... jsut to let you know
__________________

__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.