New Upgrades - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-01-2006, 07:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default New Upgrades

Ok guys, over the past year i've bought a lot of parts. Now, i've also bought upgrades for those parts and now i have too much laying around. So, i've been thinking about switching to dual core for a long time and now since the AMD x2's aren't as expensive as they used to be, i'm going to get one. So this is the rig i'm planning to build soon:

*DFI Lanparty UT nf4 (open for suggestions on socket/model) - $104.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136152

*AMD Athlon x2 4400+ OEM - $198.00
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103542

OCZ 2GB
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227210

*Geforce 8800GTX - $540

Creative X-Fi
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16829102188

WD 250GB Caviar
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144701

WD 74GB Raptor
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822136033

*OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - $154.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817341002

*Lian-Li PC-7BW - $150.00
http://www.crazypc.com/products/81328B.html

(* is for new parts)

what do you guys think, any suggestions?

~thanks
__________________

__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 07:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i think if you're buying that much new stuff you would be better off with a Core 2 Duo. can't remember how long it has been since you've been around, perhaps you missed the buzz?
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 08:01 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

yeah it's been awhile , how much does it cost? what kind of motherboard would i need?
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 08:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

I would suggest socket AM2, but obviously you would have to change your ram then too. Depends if you have the money for that.

have you made sure the case has enough room to house that 8800GTX? and checked the positions of the hard drive cage in accordance to the PCI-E slot?

also could get the DFI Lanparty nforce 590 but also cost more so the n-force 4 you picked is tried and tested and is a good mobo.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 08:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by baronvongogo
I would suggest socket AM2, but obviously you would have to change your ram then too. Depends if you have the money for that.

have you made sure the case has enough room to house that 8800GTX? and checked the positions of the hard drive cage in accordance to the PCI-E slot?

also could get the DFI Lanparty nforce 590 but also cost more so the n-force 4 you picked is tried and tested and is a good mobo.
alright i'll take a look in my case and see how much room there is. (it's the same one that i have now). I wonder if i could remove the cage and put my HDDs in the floppy bays?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136014

is that what your talking about? ok now, if i switch to conroe, then i have to switch my ram correct? because the RAM used for intel/am2 systems use ddr2. . also, if i switch to AM2 then i have to get new ram and a new cooler because my CNPS9500 won't fit on an AM2, but it'll fit on the Conroe.
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 08:23 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

Yes that was the mobo I was refering too, hmm its tough decisions core 2 duo is more expensive if you want the E6600 version and changing ram too, although you could get 1 gig for now and upgrade later.

there are cheap core 2 duo mobos that support both ddr and ddr2...but obviously you would have to upgrade it eventually anyway its up to you.

also that case looks ok should sqeeze in
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 08:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

personally, i picked out those parts for a reason, so it'd be convenient and so i wouldnt have to spend a lot. What would be the downside of getting those parts that i chose in the first post?
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 08:48 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i'll put it this way though, the e6600 beats the FX60 in pretty much everything so for the price it's not bad. if you go the Core 2 route you'll be able to re-use your HSF and if you get the right motherboard you could re-use your memory anyway. excuses, excuses lol. i can't believe you would say
Quote:
so i wouldnt have to spend a lot
when you're after an 8800GTX. if i were you i'd bite the bullet and go Core 2.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 08:53 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
i'll put it this way though, the e6600 beats the FX60 in pretty much everything so for the price it's not bad. if you go the Core 2 route you'll be able to re-use your HSF and if you get the right motherboard you could re-use your memory anyway. excuses, excuses lol. i can't believe you would say when you're after an 8800GTX. if i were you i'd bite the bullet and go Core 2.
yeah i know i could use my HS/F. Pick me out a mobo with DDR and then i'll see
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 09:10 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

think this is the only one:

ASRock 775Dual-VSTA Socket T (LGA 775) VIA PT880 PRO ATX
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813157092
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.