New System pls help me!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-09-2007, 12:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 36
Default New System pls help me!!!

I am plan to build a new system that I am going to buy soon. Here is the stuff i will buy.

Pentium Core 2 Duo E6850
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P35 DS3R
4 X 1 Gbyte DDR2 Twin2X 800MHz PC6400 corsair
Asus 640MB 8800 GTS
Western Digital SATA II 250GB
Case Centurion 534 (420W)
LG Black IDE CD-RW Kit
Samsung Black IDE DVD-ROM
Windows Vista Home Premium

Please advise me what you all think about this system and any improvement need?

TIA
__________________

rommy_tqt is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 12:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: New System pls help me!!!

Theres no point in getting an E6850, when for the same price, you can get the Q6600. Which has two more cores, and 4 more MB cache.

Why do you need 4GB of RAM? Are you photo and video editing? Graphic design? If no, then 2GB is all you need.

You don't need the 640mb version of the 8800GTS, because it's not that much better than the 320mb. Double the memory, is not double the performance. Save yourself the money.

Oh....and don't use that power supply included, with that case. It's not reliable. Get an XClio GREATPOWER 550w, or a Corsair 520HX.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 12:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: New System pls help me!!!

i'd suggest SATA for your DVD ROM/Burner drives

and DONT get a case with a crap power supply.
mgcook is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 01:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: New System pls help me!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
Theres no point in getting an E6850, when for the same price, you can get the Q6600. Which has two more cores, and 4 more MB cache.

Why do you need 4GB of RAM? Are you photo and video editing? Graphic design? If no, then 2GB is all you need.

You don't need the 640mb version of the 8800GTS, because it's not that much better than the 320mb. Double the memory, is not double the performance. Save yourself the money.

Oh....and don't use that power supply included, with that case. It's not reliable. Get an XClio GREATPOWER 550w, or a Corsair 520HX.
agreed 100%.... also why did she call it a Pentium Core 2 Duo?
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 01:07 AM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: New System pls help me!!!

Just a simple mix up.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 01:08 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: New System pls help me!!!

^ thats what i thought... is she gonna overclock??
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 01:09 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: New System pls help me!!!

i bet if you take a poll, and ask which processors intel makes, they'll either say celeron, or pentium, its all everyone knows, plus they dominated the processors (pentium 1-4) for decades before last year
AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 01:13 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: New System pls help me!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
Theres no point in getting an E6850, when for the same price, you can get the Q6600. Which has two more cores, and 4 more MB cache.

Why do you need 4GB of RAM? Are you photo and video editing? Graphic design? If no, then 2GB is all you need.

You don't need the 640mb version of the 8800GTS, because it's not that much better than the 320mb. Double the memory, is not double the performance. Save yourself the money.

Oh....and don't use that power supply included, with that case. It's not reliable. Get an XClio GREATPOWER 550w, or a Corsair 520HX.
or the E6550 is a even cheaper alternative that will overclock very well
mgcook is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 01:17 AM   #9 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: New System pls help me!!!

I was just saying the Q6600, because it looks like she can afford one, if she was considering the E6850. But the E6550 would be a nice cheaper alternative, if she decides to go save the money.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 01:25 AM   #10 (permalink)
(>-_-)>
 
dashogun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: California
Posts: 338
Send a message via AIM to dashogun Send a message via MSN to dashogun Send a message via Yahoo to dashogun
Default Re: New System pls help me!!!

Nothing wrong with IDE CD drive unless you have an open case. The wires are just fat. If you're running XP you should only need 2GB of ram.

If I were you I'd take out 2GB of ram and the 8800GTX 640MB (around $400) and exchange it for a 8800GTX (around $500).
__________________

__________________

My computer is now officially out of date :<
dashogun is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Issue with BF2 on my E510 dykzeulb PC Gaming 8 10-21-2007 04:26 PM
AMD Athlonô 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
System randomly auto-reset and auto-off/-on tbytes Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-11-2007 01:10 AM
User Locked Out of Account....Its Weird Though.... qbbraveheart Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 05-07-2007 09:58 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.