New System Build, BIOS Questions... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-03-2007, 08:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
magezzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 95
Default New System Build, BIOS Questions...

Wondering about a few settings in my BIOS (Rig in sig). Not sure if they are using my hardware to full potential.

1- robust graphics booster - auto
2- cpu clock ratio - 8x
3- cpu host frequency(Mhz) - 200
4- pci express frequency(Mhz)-auto
5- c.i.a.2. - disabled
6- memory frequency(Mhz) - 800
7- performance enhance - turbo
8- cpu voltage control - normal
__________________

__________________
E6750
LG DVD-R
Seagate 320GB
Corsair HX 620W
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
Gigabyte GA-P35C-DS3R
CoolerMaster Centurion 5
OCZ 2x1GB Revision 2 PC6400 800Mhz
magezzz is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 09:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: New System Build, BIOS Questions...

1. not sure wat this does, maybe auto o/c grpahics card? if so turn off and o/c urself
2. cpu multiplier (for o/c)
3.fsb speed (for o/c)
4. pci-e speed (leave)
5.im not sure
6. memory speed for o/c
7. prob auto o/c tool
8. voltage for cpu/ram etc..

alot of these are just standard tools for o/cing. the things like cia2 and graphics booster are just tools that o/c for u but i would rec u leave them off and do it urself.
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 09:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: New System Build, BIOS Questions...

C.I.A 2 is automatic overclocking, which I don't recommend. Manual > Automatic.

When you do overclock, I suggest you set the Performance Enhance to standard, as it helps with stability.

Set your memory multiplier to 2.00, this will set the FSB: DRAM ratio to 1:1, which is preferred.

So for now, just play with the CPU Host Frequency and CPU voltage control.

It looks like your CPU is running at 1.6GHz(200 x 8 = 1600). So disable EIST and C1E, in the advanced BIOS menu.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 10:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
magezzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 95
Default Re: New System Build, BIOS Questions...

Wheres the memory multiplier? I don't see it or it has a different name...

The frequency for the CPU is unchangeable, or seems like it is...so how do I change that?

And shows the CPU at 1.35V...seems high?
__________________
E6750
LG DVD-R
Seagate 320GB
Corsair HX 620W
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
Gigabyte GA-P35C-DS3R
CoolerMaster Centurion 5
OCZ 2x1GB Revision 2 PC6400 800Mhz
magezzz is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 10:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: New System Build, BIOS Questions...

You probably don't see those options, because your CPU Host Control is disabled. Enable it, and those should be changeable. The memory multiplier says, System Memory Multiplier (SPD).

That voltage isn't high.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 10:48 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: New System Build, BIOS Questions...

^ u can't change CPU frequency.. thats locked unless you buy an Extreme Edition
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 10:51 AM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: New System Build, BIOS Questions...

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
^ u can't change CPU frequency.. thats locked unless you buy an Extreme Edition
??...Don't you mean the CPU Clock Ratio?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 11:02 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: New System Build, BIOS Questions...

^ actually yes.. i just worded it like him.. bad move on my part
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-04-2007, 01:22 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: New System Build, BIOS Questions...

turn C1E from your bios if you can find it or if its called "C1E" on your bios. That way since you cant change your Multiplier, you can set it to its max which i believe is 10 on the E6700 or E6750, so your system will be running at its full clock speed. So all you need to do really is increase the FSB. Yours should be at 266MHz at default/stock speeds cuz its 1066FSB CPU, if its a 1333MHz FSB CPU then your default FSB is set to 333MHz.
__________________

__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
seagate 80gigs failing.. acuariano Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 27 08-27-2007 10:43 PM
System build mess up questions Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 2 08-19-2007 04:50 PM
system build question jfenwick New Systems | Building and Buying 54 07-23-2007 12:12 AM
A few questions on my new build [SF]MKM New Systems | Building and Buying 51 06-24-2007 05:43 PM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.