New System Build. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-18-2006, 08:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
Default New System Build.

New System Build.

Hey All.
Please tell me if those parts are compatible with each other?
Any comments?

AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Dual Core Processor Socket AM2 Windsor 2.2GHZ 2X512KB 89W 90NM Retail Box
http://www.ncix.com/products/index.php?sku=18458
225.72 CAD

ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe ATX AM2 Nforce 570 SLI 2PCI-E16 2PCI-E1 3PCI SATA2 Sound GBLAN 1394 Motherboard
http://www.ncix.com/products/index.php?sku=18777
170.66 CAD

OCZ GameXStream 600W ATX12V 24PIN SLI Ready Active PFC ATX Power Supply 120MM Fan Black
http://www.ncix.com/products/index.php?sku=18184
$129.65 CAD

OCZ Platinum XTC PC2-6400 2GB 2X1GB DDR2-800 CL4-5-4-15 240PIN DIMM Dual Channel Memory Kit
http://www.ncix.com/products/index.php?sku=18494
299.99 CAD

EVGA E-GEFORCE 7950 GT KO 560MHZ PCI-E 512MB 1.45GHZ GDDR3 Dual DVI-I HDCP HDTV Out RoHS Video Card
http://www.ncix.com/products/index.php?sku=20665
336.30 CAD

Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB SATA2 3GB/S 7200RPM 16MB Cache NCQ Hard Drive
http://www.ncix.com/products/index.php?sku=18409
129.40 CAD

Samsung SH-S182 DVD+RW 18X8X16 DVD-RW 18X6X16 DL-8X DVD Writer IDE Lightscribe Black OEM W/ Software
http://www.ncix.com/products/index.php?sku=21331
48.25 CAD

D-LINK DFE-538TX 10/100 ETHERNET ADAPTER PCI
http://www.ncix.com/products/index.php?sku=5162
13.05 CAD

Thanks
__________________

digows is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 08:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Everything looks good, why don't you go with a Core 2 Duo? They're a lot better than AMD right now. Also you don't need that network card as the motherboard come with one.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 08:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks. Could you suggest some parts for C2D? not sure which mobo to get with that. Maybe another video card for about the same price that would go with C2D.
i'd like to do gaming with it...
digows is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 09:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Motherboard:http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...cture=Gigabyte

CPU:http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...ufacture=Intel

Everything else you posted will work with these.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 09:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
darkop16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 553
Send a message via AIM to darkop16
Default

If you were planing to sli then i suggest getting the evga 680i for a core 2 dou setup. There are cheaper sli mobos for the conroes but they are older chipsets that were thrown together with the conroes and don't work too well with them.
__________________
CPU: e6600 @ 3.2ghz
RAM: 2GB G.Skill HZ PC6400
Mobo: ASUS P5B Deluxe
GPU: Sapphire HD4870
Soundcard: Creative Labs X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
HDDs: 250GB WD + 750GB WD + 2x1TB WD
Monitor: Samsung 226BW
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 600W
Case: Cooler Master Stacker
OS: XP Professional SP3
Mouse/keyboard: Logitech MX518/Saitek Eclipse II
Speakers: Logitech Z-2300
darkop16 is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 09:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by darkop16
If you were planing to sli then i suggest getting the evga 680i for a core 2 dou setup. There are cheaper sli mobos for the conroes but they are older chipsets that were thrown together with the conroes and don't work too well with them.
so does this one has an old chipset or not?
http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...cture=Gigabyte
digows is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 11:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
darkop16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 553
Send a message via AIM to darkop16
Default

no that is a great mobo but you can't sli with it. If you wanted to sli (use two nvidia graphics cards) then you should get a 680i mobo like i suggested. If you don't want to sli then that mobo should work great for you.

the only reason i suggested the 680i mobo is because you were originally getting a amd sli mobo
__________________
CPU: e6600 @ 3.2ghz
RAM: 2GB G.Skill HZ PC6400
Mobo: ASUS P5B Deluxe
GPU: Sapphire HD4870
Soundcard: Creative Labs X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
HDDs: 250GB WD + 750GB WD + 2x1TB WD
Monitor: Samsung 226BW
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 600W
Case: Cooler Master Stacker
OS: XP Professional SP3
Mouse/keyboard: Logitech MX518/Saitek Eclipse II
Speakers: Logitech Z-2300
darkop16 is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 11:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
Default

before i order. is it all going to work together? any advices?

ASUS P5NSLI ATX LGA775 Conroe Nforce 570 SLI DDR2 2PCI-E16 3PCI-E 2PCI SATA RAID LAN Motherboard
http://www.ncix.com/products/index.php?sku=20621

EVGA E-GEFORCE 7950 GT KO 560MHZ PCI-E 512MB 1.45GHZ GDDR3 Dual DVI-I HDCP HDTV Out RoHS Video Card
http://www.ncix.com/products/index.php?sku=20665

Silverstone Element ST50EF-PLUS 500W ATX12V 20/24PIN Power Supply W/120MM Fan Active PFC 80PLUS RoHS
http://www.ncix.com/products/index.php?sku=20944

Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 Dual Core Processor LGA775 Conroe 1.86GHZ 1066FSB 2MB Retail
http://www.ncix.com/products/index.php?sku=19142

Liteon SHM-165H6S DVD+RW 16X8X16 DVD-RW 16X6X16 Lightscribe Black OEM W/ Software
http://www.ncix.com/products/index.php?sku=20482

Corsair XMS2 TWIN2X2048-6400C4 2GB 2X1GB PC6400 DDR2-800 CL 4-4-4-12 240PIN Dual Channel Memory Kit
http://www.ncix.com/products/index.php?sku=18580

Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB SATA2 3GB/S 7200RPM 16MB Cache NCQ Hard Drive
http://www.ncix.com/products/index.php?sku=18409
digows is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 11:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

I like it, wish I had it.

Do you need a case?
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 12-19-2006, 12:50 AM   #10 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

f-that go with the 4200 i just got a 1ghz overclock i love it its cheaper.
dude.
a 6300 is not better than a 4200, and i dont really care what any of these guys say. except nitestick. if he says yes, then ok....maybe i'll consider...
a 64-6600 is better, fo sho. 6300, for the money (-20.00 not that much, indeed) a 4200 will perform as good if not better.
you see guys say, "i got a 400, 000 mhz overclock on my 6300"...but you never see the proof.
show it to me...boys.
an e6300 does not outperform a 4200, cuz.
i'm a 'fanboy', yup.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.