New system - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-07-2013, 01:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
NoLief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Azeroth
Posts: 23
Default New system

Hey fellas, opinions on this system for gaming?
FRYS.com*|*ASUS
what can it do, do you think?
__________________

NoLief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 01:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,283
Default Re: New system

What do you want it to do? For gaming it will suck.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 01:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
NoLief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Azeroth
Posts: 23
Default Re: New system

Run WoW, COD games, Skyrim type games etc.
NoLief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 01:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,283
Default Re: New system

It will put them on the screen at low res on low settings.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 01:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
NoLief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Azeroth
Posts: 23
Default Re: New system

Are you sure? It can't be any worse than my laptop i'm using right now which has a measly 6 GB of RAM not DDR3, intel HD graphics and 500GB of HDD space. I'd assume with a proper graphics and PSU upgrade that computer would work like a charm. And this laptop runs WoW with 35-50 FPS on low settings and runs COD4 at 24-35 FPS on low settings as well.
I can get a free Nvidia GTX 660 from my friend, but i'm stymied with a PSU :l
NoLief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 01:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,283
Default Re: New system

Well that's the hold back is the GPU is an IGP still. Get a good quality 550w PSU and you'll be golden with the 660.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 01:57 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
NoLief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Azeroth
Posts: 23
Default Re: New system

Yea that's what i thought too! Thanks for the help PP Mguire, you help run a great forum here!
NoLief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 03:11 AM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,283
Default Re: New system

Lol I try.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.