New System - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-07-2007, 12:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 238
Default New System

Hi,

I am upgrading my computer and wanted to know how these parts look. Please post some advice or comments on parts I should change, etc.

Processor - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115003

Motherboard -
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131045

RAM - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145590

Video Card - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130061

Then I am also getting arctic silver 5 thermal paste. If you think I should get another part or something please tell me. I don't really want tospend more than 1000 dollars though.

Thanks,
Ted
__________________

xtpacygax is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 12:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Good pick on the E6600 and motherboard, if you'll be overclocking.

Careful with the deluxe version, onboard sound card crackles, update to the latest driver, run the SoundMax wizard if you're going to buy it.

May I recommend this mboard
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813188009

What about your other components, like PSU?
__________________

__________________

Law is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 12:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 421
Default

Great selection of parts. Do you want to overclock and if so have you been looking into some alternative cpu coolers?
Phrantic is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 12:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 238
Default

Yeah I read about the sound crackling, I wouldn't think it would be that bad but maybe it is. That motherboard is pretty expensive but if it doesn't have those sound issues and such then I think I could go with that. I already have a 150 gbRaptor HDD and an Ultra XConnect PSU (not sure if it is the 400 or 500 watt version). I also have already a cooler master case. I don't want to do any massive ocing, I will do some however. Should I just leave stock cooling, or do you think I should get a new h/f?
xtpacygax is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 01:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

With the stock heatsink and fan, my E6600 runs at 35 to 40 C idling and it'll jump to 45 to 50 and sometime 55 after a couple of hour gaming. So I would recommend getting an after market cooling solution. But the C2D doesn't really run that hot at all, it stays cool even under little OCing because you don't really have to up the voltage or much.

Just to let you know my case also has a 120mm fan in the back for exhaust and a side fan as an exhaust to, plus the PSU fan.
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 01:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 238
Default

My case has a 90mm front, 120mm back, PSU fan, and a bunch of little holes all over the case for a lot of air flow. I will look int o h/f's though.
xtpacygax is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 02:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

the Gigabyte DS3 with the F9 Bios upgrade has shown to be a VERY good overclockable. Tomshardware got the e6300 to nearly 4ghz with air.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 04:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 238
Default

Yeah, but that motherboard doesn't have onboard firewire which I need because I use a video camera alot, and I need to use the firewire port in the front of my computer
xtpacygax is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 06:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 238
Default

One more thing, I am not sure if it is but can someone please make sure that all my parts are compatible with each other. Mainly I am wrroied about the ram and motherboard.
xtpacygax is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 06:34 AM   #10 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

CPU, MB and video card will work, you have the same MB and CPU as I do, just make sure your PSU has a 24 Pin ATX power connector and the 8 pin CPU power connector that you will need to plug in both.

The RAM is for 1.9v, as I heard it might not work depending on the BIOS you get but if you can find a stick rated for 1.8v and get into the BIOS to change the voltage.
__________________

__________________

Law is offline  
Closed Thread

« 150$ Gpu | Spam »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.