New security rig components. Should I change anything before starting the build? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-24-2013, 10:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,105
Default New security rig components. Should I change anything before starting the build?

Hi again everyone!

Building a rig that will be used for one purpose only: security [as in 4-8 Foscam's, running continuously]. Must have the juice to:

Run 4-8 Foscam's 24/7
Stream to a personal website
Call/text my phone when motion detection triggered
Run Blue Iris

I would like this rig to be able to perform all of the above functions, AND, sip the energy, not guzzle the wattage...

Ok, here's the list of components:

Cooler Master Elite 120 Advanced - Mini-ITX Computer Case
Intel G2020 Ivy Bridge
ASRock DDR3 1333 Intel - LGA 1155 Motherboards (B75M-ITX)
Corsair Vengeance RAM 1600 8GB
2-Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm x 25mm Fan - 1850 RPM case fans
Modified ARCTIC COOLING A7P-75000023 92mm CPU Cooler [will shave/mill 5/8" off the top]
PC Power and Cooling Silencer Mk III Series 400W Modular Power Supply
Intel 160GB SSD
Seagate 4TB HDD

Toying with the option of modifying the case and installing a Zalman LQ 315 to cool the CPU, install the radiator in the hard drive bay, then move my ssd and hdd to the DVD ROM slot, use an external DVD Read/write to install all my software.

Ok, I am open to all ideas, suggestions, corrections, rants, etc.

Thank you,

Soar
__________________

__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 10:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,289
Default Re: New security rig components. Should I change anything before starting the build?

Looks good to me. THough, if you're buying this you could probably shave a few bucks off on the RAM and make it slower.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 10:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,105
Default Re: New security rig components. Should I change anything before starting the build?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Looks good to me. THough, if you're buying this you could probably shave a few bucks off on the RAM and make it slower.
Thanks...I have tons of RAM [stocked up when places were dumping them at $40-$60 per 16GB].

I think I have some 1333 too. Are you saying I can only use 1333?

Soar
__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 10:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,289
Default Re: New security rig components. Should I change anything before starting the build?

No I was just saying that if you were purchasing the RAM you could save a few bucks by getting 1333 or 1066. Since you're using RAM you already have then doesn't matter.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 10:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,105
Default Re: New security rig components. Should I change anything before starting the build?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
No I was just saying that if you were purchasing the RAM you could save a few bucks by getting 1333 or 1066. Since you're using RAM you already have then doesn't matter.
Ok, thanks again.

Three more questions come to my mind:

1. How powerful are the present graphics on this set up?
2. Would installing a 6450 improve the graphics?
3. How much more juice would a 6450 pull?

Thanks,

Soar
__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 10:51 AM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,289
Default Re: New security rig components. Should I change anything before starting the build?

1. Not very powerful.
2. Not really.
3. 27w full load. 9w idle.

Unless the software has built in GPGPU offload then the GPU won't be used at all for the setup. Something you'll have to find out as I have no idea on.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 04:49 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,105
Default Re: New security rig components. Should I change anything before starting the build?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
1. Not very powerful.
2. Not really.
3. 27w full load. 9w idle.

Unless the software has built in GPGPU offload then the GPU won't be used at all for the setup. Something you'll have to find out as I have no idea on.
Ok, thanks again.

Well, now I have bad news...

Threw everything together and cannot get it to post. First time for me.

Normally, I will start with on the the CPU, CPU cooler, MB, PSU, and RAM...just to be certain I receive the post...then, throw everything together.

With this rig, I was so certain everything would work...darn.

System starts up, then, after about 15 seconds, it shuts off, then tries to restart itself again...but no post.

Any ideas?

Soar
__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 12:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,289
Default Re: New security rig components. Should I change anything before starting the build?

Is this with it out of the case, only one RAM stick, no GPU or drives?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 04:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,105
Default Re: New security rig components. Should I change anything before starting the build?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Is this with it out of the case, only one RAM stick, no GPU or drives?
No, I was in way too much of a hurry and did not take my time. In fact, I stayed up until 4 am working on it and I know better.

Usually I only connect the CPU, CPU cooler, one stick of ram, PSU 24 pin plug, and the 4/8 pin power plug. So my bad, I fully admit it. I was so confident this rig would fire right up.

Instead, I threw literally everything in it.

Removed everything this morning. Also, plugged in the other 4 prong mb power plug.

Now it posts.

Also noticed one stick of RAM was not fully seated.

Now I intend to plug in one item at a time to see if there is anything else messed up!

Soar
__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 05:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,289
Default Re: New security rig components. Should I change anything before starting the build?

Eh, I toss everything together too. I just take my time though.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.