New rig, have I doen a booboo - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-02-2008, 06:14 PM   #11 (permalink)
Devious Techie
 
therascalking's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fullerton, CA, USA
Posts: 479
Send a message via ICQ to therascalking Send a message via AIM to therascalking Send a message via Yahoo to therascalking
Default Re: New rig, have I doen a booboo

Quote:
Originally Posted by thirdshiftdj View Post
stock or not. 11k is a single card score.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrysamere View Post
um im newb but sounds like its only running one gtx, did you bridge the cards, are u sure its sli mode?
thanks for the help, but thats already been suggested, gents...
the question now is, how does he tell for sure if the SLI is working?
and if not, how does he fix it? - RK
__________________

__________________

*School, work, girls? No time for computers! :P*
therascalking is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 06:18 PM   #12 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: New rig, have I doen a booboo

wont gpu-z tell you if SLI is enabled?
__________________

__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 06:48 PM   #13 (permalink)
Devious Techie
 
therascalking's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fullerton, CA, USA
Posts: 479
Send a message via ICQ to therascalking Send a message via AIM to therascalking Send a message via Yahoo to therascalking
Default Re: New rig, have I doen a booboo

Quote:
Originally Posted by nOcLuE98 View Post
wont gpu-z tell you if SLI is enabled?
not sure... again, i dont run SLI, so i dont know... we need someone in here who does! haha - RK
__________________

*School, work, girls? No time for computers! :P*
therascalking is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 09:21 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 11
Default Re: New rig, have I doen a booboo

I added the SLI bridge earlier (only found out after checking the manual then did soem fiddling about in the case)

Used the built in Asus bios OC'ing tool to get it upto 2.6ghz, the tool will OC it by 20% at the most which is about 2.8ish anyone able to tell me how to oc it myself to 3ghz+ (I have 5 fans in the case not inc the cpu fan, is that enough or?)

Thanks for al lthe replies though
Lockers is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 09:26 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 771
Default Re: New rig, have I doen a booboo

You don't mean you overclocked from within windows do you? That's something you need to do from bios directly, all software's for OC'ing suck so far.
__________________
  • AMD FX 8350 Black Edition
  • XFX R9 390 8GB
  • 16GB (8x2) GSKILL DDR3 1866mhz
  • GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+
  • Aspire X-Plorer Silent Case
  • PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610W Continuous
  • 180GB Intel 520 SSD
  • Vizio 32" TV (1920/1080)/Acer P221W 22" Widescreen LCD (1680/1050)
Twizted_3kgt is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 09:26 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: New rig, have I doen a booboo

u have to download the Nvidia user panel and activate it through there

How to Build a PC - Video Guide to Building a PC - Part 2

watch number 8 it tells you what to do...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 10:17 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 11
Default Re: New rig, have I doen a booboo

ive doen that as it says, but my Nvidia thing is different to that? Maybe its just because I have it on advanced but im not too sure.

my 3dmark06 is now at 12k so ive had just under 500+ by buggering about with the settings, is the 8GB screwing it up? or doesnt that matter at all?

About overclockign from windows, no, the ASUS MB I have has a thing i nthe BIOS which oc's for you, but doesnt do it aswell as someone else would :P
Lockers is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 10:26 PM   #18 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: New rig, have I doen a booboo

8gb shouldn't affect anything
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 11:13 PM   #19 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: New rig, have I doen a booboo

Quote:
Originally Posted by therascalking View Post
thanks for the help, but thats already been suggested, gents...
the question now is, how does he tell for sure if the SLI is working?
and if not, how does he fix it? - RK
I was talking to Noclue stating that the stock q6600 was holding him back in his scores. I appreciate your enthusiasm though buddy ol' pal.
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 11:43 PM   #20 (permalink)
Devious Techie
 
therascalking's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fullerton, CA, USA
Posts: 479
Send a message via ICQ to therascalking Send a message via AIM to therascalking Send a message via Yahoo to therascalking
Default Re: New rig, have I doen a booboo

Quote:
Originally Posted by thirdshiftdj View Post
I was talking to Noclue stating that the stock q6600 was holding him back in his scores. I appreciate your enthusiasm though buddy ol' pal.
eh... my bad?
miscommunication there, i guess haha - RK
__________________

__________________

*School, work, girls? No time for computers! :P*
therascalking is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My New Alienware ALX Rig... KNiGHTMaRe89 New Systems | Building and Buying 41 02-25-2008 10:15 PM
Budget gaming rig for around $900? Hoopla New Systems | Building and Buying 16 02-05-2008 11:38 PM
New rig on it's way. Phoenix219 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 01-13-2008 10:41 AM
Pics of my new rig. Disillusion Off Topic Discussion 17 12-07-2007 09:38 AM
Gaming rig 650 LittleWing New Systems | Building and Buying 35 10-30-2007 01:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.