New Rig but I Don't Overclock So...? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-07-2005, 08:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 331
Question New Rig but I Don't Overclock So...?

I am in the process of researching components for a new rig. I want my new PC to not only to do the standard routines of Ofiice work, but also video editing, and of course serious gaming. I have been looking at Socket 939 SLI boards along with the AMD 3200 Venice Core CPU. I have read many people saying how the Venice core and such and such MB is great for OCing.

The thing is I don't OC because I haven't the slightest idea how to OC and I wouldn't ever attempt to unless someone showed me how. Anyway, my question is since I don't OC am I wasting my money on such high level components?

I am trying to look to the now and the future (though the future becomes old as soon as I purchase and assemble; such is the time reality in the computer universe). Keep in mind I am looking for stability as well. I have an old P3 815E chipset Asus motherboard and it is as rock steady as anything I have ever come across. Your advice and recommendations please. Thanks.
__________________

GoodNews101 is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 08:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

For starters, forget about SLI (in my opinion). It's a money pit. It's thier way of getting you to buy 2 cards instead of one, and at best you'll see a 50% increase in performance when you add the second card.

Socket 939 is a very stable and quick way to plant a system. The 3200+ is a good choice. It'll be very zippy when it is stock.

For your system, get
3200+
1gb of ram or 2 if in budget
MSI K8N Neo4-F s939 mobo

Spend as much as you can on a solid video card for your machine. Try to leave around 200 or greater. My goal would be to aim for a 6800 vanilla or greater.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 10:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

ryan said everything that i was going to >_<
Static_11 is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 01:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 331
Default

Thanks to both of you for your responses bacause it has helped me temendously in my narrowing down components. There is so much out there it makes my head spin. I looked up the MSI board that Ryan mentioned at NewEgg and I was astounded at the number of positive reviews this MB received.

What RAM would you recommend. I am looking at getting at least 1 Gig.
GoodNews101 is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 01:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

If you aren't going to be overclocking then value ram is good. I don't know which brand of value ram is the best though. Perhaps someone else knows? I though my Crucial Value Ram worked pretty good, I think you should stay away from Kingston if I remember correctly.
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 02:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 331
Default

If I did ever get to overclocking then what RAM would you recommend Lazerman? And is the MSI board I mentioned geared toward OCing? Thanks.
GoodNews101 is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 02:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

If you want to ever start overclocking I would get a DFI Lanparty mobo even though that MSI is a really good board.
__________________

Waphlez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.