New Quad 3DMark Results - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-09-2007, 11:37 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: New Quad 3DMark Results

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
What's room temperature?
Room temp is like 65*Fahrenheit. Im freezing in here lolz.

Anyway, Im OCing it now at 3.0GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier at 1.3Volts, Is that enough Voltage for the VCore? Cuz on my E6600 it was like 1.3625 Volts. This is like a few steps down. Not sure what the VCore should be at 3.0GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier for a Quad Core should be. Anyone have any ideas?
__________________

__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 09-09-2007, 11:39 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: New Quad 3DMark Results

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinoy3000 View Post
Wow, ok, at BIOS it was like 49C at my overclocked settings at 3.2GHz, I guess I wont OC it?

Right now at Stock Settings, Im not doing any load the the CPU at all and here are the temps reading from Everest.
Motherboard: 35C
CPU: 38C
CPU#1/Core#1: 48C
CPU#1/Core#2: 49C
CPU#1/Core#3: 45C
CPU#1/Core#4: 46C
GPU: 52C
GPU Diode: 49C
GPU Memory: 52C
Seagate HD: 30C
WD Raptor HD: 30C
CPU: 2150 RPM
Chassis #3: 1507 RPM
GPU: 1494 RPM
CPU Core: 1.22V

These are stock settings!
Those I think are too high temps for not doing anything. Im just typing this message here and those are the temps for it on Everest.
check Coretemp

what cooling are you using?
__________________

mgcook is offline  
Old 09-09-2007, 11:41 PM   #13 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: New Quad 3DMark Results

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgcook View Post
71* is the recommended limit by Intel

I ran mine for over 8hours at 70,70,66,66
whoa jeez...man you guys remind me of why I don't OC to such speeds. I don't think its worth the risk for the minor performance gains, I mean why not just keep it at 3 ghz which is more then enough for anything for the next year or so. I haven't even OCed yet...
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 09-09-2007, 11:42 PM   #14 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: New Quad 3DMark Results

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinoy3000 View Post
Wow, ok, at BIOS it was like 49C at my overclocked settings at 3.2GHz, I guess I wont OC it?

Right now at Stock Settings, Im not doing any load the the CPU at all and here are the temps reading from Everest.
Motherboard: 35C
CPU: 38C
CPU#1/Core#1: 48C
CPU#1/Core#2: 49C
CPU#1/Core#3: 45C
CPU#1/Core#4: 46C
GPU: 52C
GPU Diode: 49C
GPU Memory: 52C
Seagate HD: 30C
WD Raptor HD: 30C
CPU: 2150 RPM
Chassis #3: 1507 RPM
GPU: 1494 RPM
CPU Core: 1.22V

These are stock settings!
Those I think are too high temps for not doing anything. Im just typing this message here and those are the temps for it on Everest.
Stop using Everest try Coretemp. Ive done a lot of research on other forums and it seems Coretemp is the most trusted temp monitoring program for the q6600 g0 and it reads the tjunction at the accurate 100 celcius. Your temps are even hotter then mine at stock according to Everest which shouldnt be since my room is like 85 F while yours is 65.
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 09-09-2007, 11:43 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: New Quad 3DMark Results

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabb View Post
whoa jeez...man you guys remind me of why I don't OC to such speeds. I don't think its worth the risk for the minor performance gains, I mean why not just keep it at 3 ghz which is more then enough for anything for the next year or so. I haven't even OCed yet...
Hey, urs is running at 3.0GHz? Wat VCore is yours at? Mine right now is at 333MHz FSB x 9 = 3.0GHz but with 1.3VCore, not sure if I should lower it more.
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 09-09-2007, 11:45 PM   #16 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: New Quad 3DMark Results

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinoy3000 View Post
Hey, urs is running at 3.0GHz? Wat VCore is yours at? Mine right now is at 333MHz FSB x 9 = 3.0GHz but with 1.3VCore, not sure if I should lower it more.
I said I haven't OCed yet but when I do ill go to 3 ghz and leave it at that. To me its not worth the risk pushing it hard and hot to get to 3.2 or 3.4 on air cooling ( esp since my room is always hot )
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 09-09-2007, 11:51 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: New Quad 3DMark Results

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabb View Post
whoa jeez...man you guys remind me of why I don't OC to such speeds. I don't think its worth the risk for the minor performance gains, I mean why not just keep it at 3 ghz which is more then enough for anything for the next year or so. I haven't even OCed yet...
haha i dont have a 3yr warranty for nothing

i cant wait to see what i can get out of her when i add some watercooling. im hoping for at least 3.8-3.9 if not 4.0 with reasonable temps.
mgcook is offline  
Old 09-09-2007, 11:57 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: New Quad 3DMark Results

Ok, just did another 3DMark, on the CPU test, temps went up to 61C for the Cores and the CPU went to around 58C. I dont know why but right now idle temp is at 46C on the BIOS that was at 1.362 Volts though, but now I changed it to 1.3Volts.

Heres my 3DMark at 3.0GHz - 9561 vs 9288 at stock.

Futuremark - ORB - Result Analyzer

Also, im using TT120 for my Heatsink, maybe its uninstalled properly? Ill double check that tomorrow or when I leave to college which is on Friday, before I go ill double check it so I know that I have to reseat it. But when I installed the Heatsink, I know it was installed properly. I added the thermalpaste, quite a bit too, and then put the heatsink on.

The TT120 is kind of tricky to put in there cuz the ASUS P5B Deluxe has this barrel looking like thingy on the motherboard that sometimes gets on the way of the Heatsink, the first time i tried to install it, it was on the way and the heatsink was on top of that barrrel thing and not even touching the cpu. But I know this time I made sure it was touching it and that the Barrel like thingy are out of the way.

This barrel thing is what im talking about....



Its next to the CPU socket.The little circle thingy.
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 12:00 AM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: New Quad 3DMark Results

you might have put to much thermal paste on there

and you gotta let it cure for about 3 days before you see the minimal temps you will ever see
mgcook is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 12:01 AM   #20 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: New Quad 3DMark Results

never use everest to monitor temps..its way off.
Nvidia monitor is pretty accurate.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD undergoes massive internal shift n Quad SLI looks like it's dead in the water Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 3 07-31-2007 01:46 AM
dual corre vs quad core robina_80 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 07-23-2007 03:45 PM
quad cores N1gh7 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 07-06-2007 06:40 PM
online stores/ads in search results raverx3m Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 06-05-2007 09:46 PM
Question about quad core.. PanzerKammander New Systems | Building and Buying 7 05-08-2007 12:25 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.