New PSU and Video Card. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-20-2008, 11:18 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: New PSU and Video Card.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter.Cort View Post
i have actually seen a dell board get shot cause of a more powerful psu. don't know how it works, but i've seen it done. what model dell is it?
Ouch.

Well there is an alternative. Run 2 power supplies. Run the dell PSU for all the dell harware, and run another PSU for the videocard. Its not ideal, but you can do it, i think there was a guide somewhere.
__________________

__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 10-20-2008, 11:20 PM   #12 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: New PSU and Video Card.

you just have to splice the 24 pin power connector i believe.
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 10-20-2008, 11:24 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 75
Default Re: New PSU and Video Card.

This is my current PSU.



Someone from another forum said...
Quote:
Apparently the combined 12V rail looks like it's rated at 30A, usually I'd say to look into another PSU, but if the PSU is fairly recent you could probably do away by just getting a graphics card. For your budget the obvious choice is the HD 4850.
Is this true?
yo1mcool is offline  
Old 10-20-2008, 11:34 PM   #14 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: New PSU and Video Card.

30a over 2 rails isn't bad, but its more like 26-28a as you loose some of it for it being on 2 rails. i would say that actually isn't bad at all.. i mean you can try it out and if it doesn't work then your pc won't post and you'll have to get a new psu. but if it does work then sweet.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 10-20-2008, 11:38 PM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: New PSU and Video Card.

there is only one rail on ur psu and that will not run a 4850 with your current hardware. get the 450vx/550vx by corsair along with the 4850, you could also get a 9800gtx+ but its not advisable imo since the 4850 is a bit cheaper and offers very slightly better performance.

EDIT: i see its named VB, usually its +12v1/2, but anyway, assuming your psu is about 70% efficient or so under load you should be bale to handle it without upgrading ur psu. hard to say since usually dell/hp etc use psu's or poor quality or just enough to power what they have. try it out and see. since u got 36A combined you should be ok, after losing some for inefficiency and combination loss.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 10-20-2008, 11:39 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 75
Default Re: New PSU and Video Card.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter.Cort View Post
30a over 2 rails isn't bad, but its more like 26-28a as you loose some of it for it being on 2 rails. i would say that actually isn't bad at all.. i mean you can try it out and if it doesn't work then your pc won't post and you'll have to get a new psu. but if it does work then sweet.
So between the GeForce 8800 - 9600 and the Radeon 3870 - 4850 which would most likely be able to run off of that amount of amps?
yo1mcool is offline  
Old 10-20-2008, 11:43 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: New PSU and Video Card.

all of those, note that 3870 is fairly old. for example i run a amd x2 overclocked, 8800gs heavily overclocked + 1hdd dvd 2 fans + gpu cooler. with a 38ow antec earthwatts psu rated at 30A or so amps over the 12v rails. i have seen someone run a 4870 in his system with the same psu and a intel dual or quad not sure (rican). youll have no problems running a 4850 hopefully.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 10-20-2008, 11:51 PM   #18 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: New PSU and Video Card.

yeah, the earthwatts is a great psu, i dunno how they managed to do it so well but **** they did it.. and yeah rican runs a dual core in both his systems. amd in one, e1200 i believe in the other.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 10-20-2008, 11:51 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 75
Default Re: New PSU and Video Card.

Quote:
Originally Posted by baron5 View Post
all of those, note that 3870 is fairly old. for example i run a amd x2 overclocked, 8800gs heavily overclocked + 1hdd dvd 2 fans + gpu cooler. with a 38ow antec earthwatts psu rated at 30A or so amps over the 12v rails. i have seen someone run a 4870 in his system with the same psu and a intel dual or quad not sure (rican). youll have no problems running a 4850 hopefully.
Well, if it's true that my PSU can handle a 4850 (hopefully, lol) which one would you suggest?

I don't really know the differences between brands and which are good or not.
yo1mcool is offline  
Old 10-21-2008, 04:22 AM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: New PSU and Video Card.

Quote:
Originally Posted by yo1mcool View Post
Well, if it's true that my PSU can handle a 4850 (hopefully, lol) which one would you suggest?

I don't really know the differences between brands and which are good or not.
There isnt much difference between them. Some companies like EVGA have good warranties or step up programs. But i would just go with the cheapest one, or the HIS one i posted on the first page with the better cooler. And yeah, 30A should be enough for a 4850.
__________________

__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First build: Need help selecting PSU, video card, and sound card ItalianBoy228 System Upgrades 6 07-18-2008 07:13 PM
Low cost video card recommendation Okitasoshi New Systems | Building and Buying 36 05-27-2008 02:22 PM
Buying Video Card and PSU Today! animeking77 New Systems | Building and Buying 14 05-16-2008 05:46 PM
Video Card and PSU Shiinji System Upgrades 7 04-20-2008 03:32 PM
Will my PSU withhold my new video card? KCRMYZ System Upgrades 4 12-26-2007 03:30 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.