New PSU, maybe. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-15-2010, 04:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 75
Default New PSU, maybe.

Hello, the past few days I've noticed my screen going completely black for a few seconds and then going back to normal, mainly while playing games such as Halo PC and WoW, which are not even graphically intensive ones either.

At first I thought it may be my drivers, but everything has been working fine until I added a 1TB WD Black HDD for file storage. (The hard drive is working fine)

My current PSU is a corsair HX520 and my computer consists of:
Gigabyte P35-DS3R
Intel Q6600 @ 2.4ghz
Sapphire HD 5850
1 x 320GB HDD
1 X 1TB HDD
4gb of Patriot Extreme RAM
5 x 120mm fans.

I'm wondering if this may be pushing it for the 520HX and if it's time to upgrade to a more powerful PSU.

Thank you for your time.
__________________

Jophess is offline  
Old 02-15-2010, 05:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Techist Member
 
Slam'n Systems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 828
Default Re: New PSU, maybe.

I personally think your current PSU is basically at its limit .. if your problem that is occuring is indeed a PSU problem, that I do not know.
__________________

__________________
3DMark FireStrike Ultra: 4,266
3DMark FireStrike: 12,043

  • Intel Core i7 920 Overclocked 3.2Ghz - Megahalem Cooler
  • eVGA E758-A1 X58 Intel LGA 1366 Motherboard
  • Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM
  • MSI Armor OC 8GB GeForce GTX 1070
  • eVGA 650W G2 Modular Power Supply
  • Thermaltake Armor+ Full Tower Case
  • Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD
  • Corsair Force LE 250GB SSD
  • OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD
Slam'n Systems is offline  
Old 02-15-2010, 05:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: New PSU, maybe.

I think it's either your video card or PSU that's faulty
520W is plenty of power
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 02-15-2010, 05:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: New PSU, maybe.

It could very well be your psu.

It could also be your video driver. I've seen the screen go black for a second or 2 and then flash back on, numerous times in the past few years. A new driver will come out and it will work fine. Then another crappy driver comes out, you never know when, and the problem surfaces again.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 02-15-2010, 05:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Veteran Techist Member
 
Slam'n Systems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 828
Default Re: New PSU, maybe.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
It could also be your video driver. I've seen the screen go black for a second or 2 and then flash back on, numerous times in the past few years. A new driver will come out and it will work fine. Then another crappy driver comes out, you never know when, and the problem surfaces again.
Mhm. I've had similar experiences. If it only happens in games that aren't very system-strenuous .. could be your card, or drivers as Slaymate said.

I'd try rolling back, or getting the newest drivers (Depending which ones you are currently running.)
__________________
3DMark FireStrike Ultra: 4,266
3DMark FireStrike: 12,043

  • Intel Core i7 920 Overclocked 3.2Ghz - Megahalem Cooler
  • eVGA E758-A1 X58 Intel LGA 1366 Motherboard
  • Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM
  • MSI Armor OC 8GB GeForce GTX 1070
  • eVGA 650W G2 Modular Power Supply
  • Thermaltake Armor+ Full Tower Case
  • Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD
  • Corsair Force LE 250GB SSD
  • OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD
Slam'n Systems is offline  
Old 02-15-2010, 08:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 75
Default Re: New PSU, maybe.

I'll try updating the drivers to see if that helps.

Any recommendations on a more powerful power supply anyway? I've been thinking of upgrading my computer over the next few months.
Jophess is offline  
Old 02-15-2010, 08:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Veteran Techist Member
 
Slam'n Systems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 828
Default Re: New PSU, maybe.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jophess View Post
I'll try updating the drivers to see if that helps.

Any recommendations on a more powerful power supply anyway? I've been thinking of upgrading my computer over the next few months.
I looked quickly and came up with this:
Newegg.com - OCZ ModXStream Pro OCZ700MXSP 700W ATX12V V2.2 / EPS12V SLI Certified CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply compatible with core i7 - Power Supplies

Probably over powering, but it's better to have too much, than too little. I say that one because with the rebate, it is an amazing price for a 700W Modular, and with a higher power supply, it means the ability to support SLi/Crossfire if you ever go that route.

This is the one I have...
Newegg.com - Rosewill BRONZE series RBR1000-M 1000W Continuous@40°C, 80Plus Bronze Certified,Modular Cable Design,ATX12V v2.3/ EPS12V,SLI Ready,CrossFire Ready,Active PFC"Compatible with Core i7, i5" Power Supply - Power Supplies
Very overpowering, but I jumped on it as I found it on sale for $89 last December.
__________________
3DMark FireStrike Ultra: 4,266
3DMark FireStrike: 12,043

  • Intel Core i7 920 Overclocked 3.2Ghz - Megahalem Cooler
  • eVGA E758-A1 X58 Intel LGA 1366 Motherboard
  • Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM
  • MSI Armor OC 8GB GeForce GTX 1070
  • eVGA 650W G2 Modular Power Supply
  • Thermaltake Armor+ Full Tower Case
  • Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD
  • Corsair Force LE 250GB SSD
  • OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD
Slam'n Systems is offline  
Old 02-16-2010, 12:45 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 612
Default Re: New PSU, maybe.

The 5XXX ATI cards have known driver issues.
I'd be faster to judge your graphics card than to judge any of the rest of that setup.



Check the AMD forums, see if anyone is having similar issues with their 5850.
__________________

orihS ‪‪‪Shiro is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*READ FIRST* Updated Power supply guide Ste New Systems | Building and Buying 37 04-11-2012 03:50 AM
*READ FIRST* Updated Power supply guide Ste System Upgrades 2 12-12-2009 09:30 PM
Heat/ Airflow/ PSU Pezzy Overclocking and Modding 7 11-26-2009 10:45 AM
2nd PSU question apsoul Overclocking and Modding 3 10-31-2009 01:03 PM
PSU Problem/Cooling Problem Like2game New Systems | Building and Buying 11 01-05-2009 08:46 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.