New processor for my comp. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-08-2011, 12:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 7
Default New processor for my comp.

Hi, first time posting here. I'm currently on a budget and can't buy a new computer (wife won't let me) :-), however I'm entertaining the option of upgrading my processor. Below is what I found for my mobo. I'm mainly using this comp for playing games, WOW - Battlefield Bad company. I'd also like to have something that will prepare me for Battlefield 3. Any help would be appreciated as I'm not tech savvy.


Motherboard Name Asus P5BW-LA (Buckeye)
Bus Type Intel AGTL+
Bus Width 64-bit
Real Clock 267 MHz (QDR)
Effective Clock 1066 MHz
Bandwidth 8530 MB/s

If I need to post anything else please let me know..
__________________

colonelva is offline  
Old 03-08-2011, 08:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: New processor for my comp.

That information's not very helpful; can you use Speccy to find out your computer's specs and give them to us?

Speccy - Standard
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 03-08-2011, 02:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: New processor for my comp.

Depending on what video card you have, a new video card might be a better option for your gaming needs.
brinks is offline  
Old 03-08-2011, 05:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: New processor for my comp.

Is that a brand name PC like a HP? Please provide us with the Brand and model number.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 03-11-2011, 06:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 7
Default Re: New processor for my comp.

I apologize for the delay in response, work has been a pain :-).. but here goes..and yes it is an HP Pavilion a1640n.

Summary
Operating System
MS Windows XP Media Center Edition Professional 32-bit SP3
CPU
Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 @ 1.86GHz 51 C
Conroe 65nm Technology
RAM
6.0GB DDR2
Motherboard
ASUSTek Computer INC. Buckeye (Socket 775) 38 C
Graphics
HP L2045w (1680x1050@60Hz)
1024MB GeForce GTS 250 (BFG Tech) 56 C
Hard Drives
244GB Seagate ST3250820AS (SATA) 49 C
313GB FUJITSU MAXTOR STM3320620AS (SATA) 53 C
Optical Drives
TSSTcorp CD/DVDW TS-H653L
Audio
Creative X-Fi Audio Processor (WDM)

Motherboard
Manufacturer ASUSTek Computer INC.
Model Buckeye
Version 0nx1114RE101BUCKE00
Chipset Vendor Intel
Chipset Model P965/G965
Chipset Revision C2
Southbridge Vendor Intel
Southbridge Model 82801HH (ICH8DH)
Southbridge Revision B0
System Temperature 38 C
BIOS
Brand Phoenix Technologies, LTD
Version 3.17
Date 08/21/2007
Voltage
CPU CORE 1.680 V
MEMORY CONTROLLER 1.688 V
VIN2 1.664 V
PCI Data
1. PCI Available
2. PCI Available
3. PCI Available
4. PCI Available
Graphics
Monitor
Name HP L2045w on NVIDIA GeForce GTS 250

Is that enough information? I wasn't sure if this is all that's needed.
colonelva is offline  
Old 03-13-2011, 06:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 7
Default Re: New processor for my comp.

Figured I'd throw a bump on this hoping someone could see it :-).
colonelva is offline  
Old 03-13-2011, 06:55 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: New processor for my comp.

What sort of budget to you have for upgrading? I'd definitely upgrade the CPU first, but that will also require upgrading the motherboard, and getting new RAM... and possibly a new power supply, though if it that PC has a GTS250 then the power supply is probably good enough.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 03-14-2011, 05:37 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 7
Default Re: New processor for my comp.

I'm going to have enough for anything under $200. I'm using Thermaltake Black Widow 850 w power supply recently bought that thinking that would be enough to power my comp. Was that a bad choice?
colonelva is offline  
Old 03-14-2011, 04:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: In a box.
Posts: 227
Default Re: New processor for my comp.

First of all, i believe that 6GB for the system is overkill... in a good way and bad way. Your Operating System is the problem... Windows xp 32 bit can only recognize 3.5gb of ram while a 64bit xp can recognize up to 8GB. so i dont think a new processor is really necessary, unless the lag and slow performance persists...

but then again, the processor is pretty out of date...

Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0GHz 6MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor BX80570E8400

775 sockets for intel are mainly the core 2 duos anyway... so i would probably replace your old one with this one... its about 170 USD and almost twice as fast as you existing processor. from my friends experiments, the better the CPU, the graphics card will also follow in a sense, so replacing graphics card should be crossed out...

i don't completely agree with Yami, since he's probably thinking of getting the i-series... theres still very good intel Core 2 duos out there, its not as good as the i-series, but its better than what you have

the 850 W power supply is not a bad choice, but its overkill since your computer doesn't consume that much power yet... atleast you will know that your computer wont bug out because of consuming more power than the pwoer supply is giving it. haha



well thats my take.
flipp1234567 is offline  
Old 03-14-2011, 05:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 7
Default Re: New processor for my comp.

I do have some lag while playing, was kinda hoping to alleviate that. What if I upgraded to 64 bit, would the extra ram help?

I had read somewhere that my mobo wasn't compatible with other type of chips cept Conroe. I can't remember where I saw that. This is the spec on my mobo

# Socket: 775
# Supports the following processors:

* Intel Core 2 Duo E6x00 with Dual Core technology (Conroe core)
Motherboard Specifications, P5BW-LA (Buckeye) - HP Customer Care (United States - English)

Not sure if that means I can't use anything but Conroe.

I had previously looked at Intel Core2 Duo Processor E6850
(4M Cache, 3.00 GHz, 1333 MHz FSB. Thanks for the input so far.
__________________

colonelva is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
replaced processor with bit older one, comp won't start up pauljones Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-05-2009 02:46 AM
Processor choice, etc. for new Comp. ancientbear New Systems | Building and Buying 7 08-13-2008 11:33 PM
Got A processor now need the rest of the comp. teknikull System Upgrades 5 07-17-2006 09:55 PM
comp lies about processor speed. part2 Seria Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 15 02-16-2005 04:27 PM
new processor/motherboard installed.... old processor shown, also crashes lokivn Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 9 12-10-2004 05:25 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.