New processor means new harddrive too? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2008, 11:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 63
Default New processor means new harddrive too?

Even though I'm not planning on getting a new processor any time soon, I have some questions that I would like answered before I go looking for one:

1. If I get a new processor, do I have to reinstall Windows for the new system to work with the new processor? (I'm pretty sure I do, but just making sure)

2. Assuming I have to wipe my harddrives (I have 2), could I instead; buy a new HD, put it in the computer with the new processor, install Windows, put the 2 old HDs as slaves to the new one, and copy the old data onto the new HD? Then I wouldn't have to back everything up with DVDs and USB Drives... Because the only reason that you have to reinstall Windows is because of it recognizing the correct processor. So, accessing the files shouldn't be changed at all, right?
__________________

jasonhtml is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 11:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: New processor means new harddrive too?

You're actually making it harder than it really sounds. You don't have to reinstall or do anything. Just drop in the processor, reset the BIOS, and you're set. I do it all the time.

It's only the motherboard, that would require a reformat and reinstall.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 11:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: New processor means new harddrive too?

shoot, i didnt even have to re-install when i changed mobos...i did after a bit anyway, but i didnt neccessarily have to.
always a good idea if you are replacing the most vital component (the mainboard), tho.
yeah, i switch procs often as well...as long as your mobo supports it, no problemo.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 07:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: New processor means new harddrive too?

as long as your not switchign the amount of cores, or else yoru computer will only pick up the regular ammoutn of cores ex, if you go from duel to quad, xp will only pick up 2 cores, happend when i switched from my single core 4000+ to my q6600.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 07:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: New processor means new harddrive too?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amd gt player View Post
as long as your not switchign the amount of cores, or else yoru computer will only pick up the regular ammoutn of cores ex, if you go from duel to quad, xp will only pick up 2 cores, happend when i switched from my single core 4000+ to my q6600.
Really? I switched from an E6400 to a Q6600. XP picked up the extra two cores, fine.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 07:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: New processor means new harddrive too?

hmm for me it didnt.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 07:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: New processor means new harddrive too?

Maybe because you're going from a 4000+ to a Q6600, which are two entirely different platforms?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 07:28 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: New processor means new harddrive too?

it might be because u also had to switch motherboards too
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading Harddrive Xarulsis New Systems | Building and Buying 2 11-11-2007 10:10 PM
External harddrive for all torrents/movies etc to avoid... oxfile84 Laptops and Notebooks 6 09-21-2007 11:29 PM
Why is my harddrive full ! there is nothing installed ! illnastyimpreza Microsoft Windows and Software 12 07-22-2007 08:39 PM
Spontaneous Harddrive Failure Mortiffer Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-14-2007 04:13 AM
any program that will copy harddrive to another Max Power Microsoft Windows and Software 17 06-07-2007 05:16 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.