New Power Supply? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-16-2006, 12:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 175
Question New Power Supply?

I Recently started building a new Gaming computer for myself and I decided to not spend alot on the case. I ordered an Aspire Dreamer-x II from Newegg.com for 75$ or so, and a 420W PSU was included. Now in my Motherboard Manual, it says that I need a minimum 400W PSU to function, and a minimum 550W for SLI mode. I plan on running SLI, but can I get away with my stock PSU? I also have 4 80mm Fans and 2 UV lights installed.
__________________

krazy_taco is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 12:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

depends on what kind of cardas you will have, but most people suggest some kind of ANTEC 550W. but coolermaster makes some decent ones as well... Thermaltake, but they are usualy noisy. So I guess yea, I would go with ANTEC... be around 80-90 USD
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 12:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

No.


Even without SLI that PSU is bound to crap out on you.

Look to spend 120+ for a a excellent power supply, you will need one for SLI.


Got a budget we can work with?
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 12:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 175
Default Thank You

Thanks! Thats all I needed to know!
krazy_taco is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 12:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Wow, Have your even tried turning it on? I wonder if it would work. Lol.


Antec 550 Watt TruePower


Or you could always go for an OCZ or a PC Power and Cooling.
Ste is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 01:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

Check out the Seasonic S12-500watt power supply. I got one for a review and its currently powering my system. Runs like a champ. Super solid rails at exactly the stated voltage, and its completely silent.

http://www.petrastechshop.com/ses1250posu.html
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 04:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 175
Default ..

I need a minimum 550Watts.
Anyway....
I have another question about PSUs; If i have an ATX Case, Should i buy an ATX PSU? And what does ATX12v ... blah blah mean, and if i get the wrong type but it still fits would it still work in my computer?
krazy_taco is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 04:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 221
Default Re: ..

Quote:
Originally posted by krazy_taco
I need a minimum 550Watts.
Anyway....
I have another question about PSUs; If i have an ATX Case, Should i buy an ATX PSU? And what does ATX12v ... blah blah mean, and if i get the wrong type but it still fits would it still work in my computer?
No. If you have an ATX case, you should not get an ATX PSU under any circumstances.......

Most of them are ATX. Just make sure it ain't too large, like some OCZ GameXtream's. They don't fit in some cases. I don't know if your Aspire will be problematic or not. However, TP-II's fit in most anything.
__________________
2.4 GHz Pentium 4
Harman/Kardon 2.1
256 MB RAM
Dell 1800FP
GeForce FX 5200
CD Burner and CD Reader!
Gerry_W is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 11:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: ..

Quote:
Originally posted by krazy_taco
I need a minimum 550Watts.
Anyway....
I have another question about PSUs; If i have an ATX Case, Should i buy an ATX PSU? And what does ATX12v ... blah blah mean, and if i get the wrong type but it still fits would it still work in my computer?
So long as it has ATX to start then its fine, Anything after the ATX is just additional information.
Ste is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 12:33 AM   #10 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

Not all 500 watt power supplies are equal...
__________________

__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.