New Phenom build help - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-19-2009, 02:15 AM   #41 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: New Phenom build help

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
Well, depending on how old or new the q6600 is, it could probably crap at around 3.0ghz, and the Phenom II 940 will do 3.7-3.8ghz with a good cooler, plus its faster than the q6600 clock per clock; but I agree that its not worth buying the Phenom II 940 regardless of how good it is.

I say wait for Core i5, which I think comes out in a few weeks right?
I dunno, even some of the newish ones i had would do 3.2ghz with no effort a all, basically a slight voltage tweak would do it. But agreed, i dont think its worth the upgrade, just settle ofr a new card and wait for a i5 system.
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 06-19-2009, 08:50 AM   #42 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 424
Default Re: New Phenom build help

Well i already sold my pc yesterday so i'm going to need a new system regardless, it's just a matter of if i go Amd or intel.

Besides the i5 cores aren't being released until September. I'm not sure if i can go all summer with my laptop.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by weelilmatt View Post
I need a good gaming desktop that can run 5 instances of World of Warcraft w/o much lag, if any...

I'm not computer savvy.. so i need help! pleasee!! I just need it to be under $1000, just the desktop no mouse/keyboard/monitor
IBM/PS1 is offline  
Old 06-20-2009, 11:56 AM   #43 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: New Phenom build help

This Asus board looks like it has very strong power regulation
NCIX.com - Buy ASUS M4A78-E ATX 790GX Socket AM2+ DDR2 2PCI-E16 2PCI-E1 2PCI HDMI Video Sound GBLAN Motherboard - M4A78-E In Canada.

And for overclocking, you'll want to look for black edition chips; they have an unlocked multiplier

Basically, if the BIOS lets it run at higher frequencies, that doesn't guarantee stability. better power regulation tends to help there.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-20-2009, 01:18 PM   #44 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 424
Default Re: New Phenom build help

What specification on that board gives it good power regulation?

I saw a thread awhile back about a moderators AMD phenom build and how he broke over 20,000 on MARK 3d. Ever since i heard about intel's marketing and sales tactics i honestly don't feel like giving them my hard earned $$$

Same reason i don't shop at wal-mart.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by weelilmatt View Post
I need a good gaming desktop that can run 5 instances of World of Warcraft w/o much lag, if any...

I'm not computer savvy.. so i need help! pleasee!! I just need it to be under $1000, just the desktop no mouse/keyboard/monitor
IBM/PS1 is offline  
Old 06-20-2009, 01:40 PM   #45 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: New Phenom build help

Quote:
Originally Posted by IBM/PS1 View Post
What specification on that board gives it good power regulation?
It's got 9 chokes of 1.2µH rating next to the CPU socket (I had a look at some high-res photos)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-20-2009, 01:50 PM   #46 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 424
Default Re: New Phenom build help

Thanks apocalypse

I read a post that water cooling a CPU only reduces the temps by around 5C

Can anyone confirm/deny that number?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by weelilmatt View Post
I need a good gaming desktop that can run 5 instances of World of Warcraft w/o much lag, if any...

I'm not computer savvy.. so i need help! pleasee!! I just need it to be under $1000, just the desktop no mouse/keyboard/monitor
IBM/PS1 is offline  
Old 06-20-2009, 01:52 PM   #47 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: New Phenom build help

depends what you're comparing specifically. A good air cooler vs an ordinary watercooling system?

a good watercooling system will be significantly better
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-20-2009, 02:01 PM   #48 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 424
Default Re: New Phenom build help

I've been shopping around for a reasonably priced water cooling system for a few weeks now. I heard chipset, bridge, HDD blocks are all not worth it. Can you recommend a good CPU only water cooling kit for a newbie.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by weelilmatt View Post
I need a good gaming desktop that can run 5 instances of World of Warcraft w/o much lag, if any...

I'm not computer savvy.. so i need help! pleasee!! I just need it to be under $1000, just the desktop no mouse/keyboard/monitor
IBM/PS1 is offline  
Old 06-20-2009, 02:08 PM   #49 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: New Phenom build help

see here for watercooling kits

Petra's Tech Shop
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 06-20-2009, 02:22 PM   #50 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: New Phenom build help

how big of a radiator can you fit in your case?
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 Build 7000 Beta Review KSoD Official TF Reviews 11 02-15-2009 01:33 PM
rican's Project Phenom 2009 Build Log ricanflow Overclocking and Modding 156 01-28-2009 09:57 PM
First post - First build - HT/Media/Multi-Task Build Reco's? delirium330 New Systems | Building and Buying 60 01-12-2009 03:07 PM
First Computer Build: Newb Need Advice djc122984 System Upgrades 15 12-31-2008 07:59 AM
AMD Phenom & Spider vs Intel QX9770 (What a joke AMD is) Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 88 12-20-2007 10:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.