New Phenom build help - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-15-2009, 08:56 PM   #21 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: New Phenom build help

I was pretty sure you could use an am2+ on an am3 board. Just about all am2+ support am3 though, bios flash not needed.
__________________

Thresh25 is offline  
Old 06-15-2009, 08:59 PM   #22 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: New Phenom build help

The board that was linked to you in the first reply supports AM3 right out of the box.

And thresh, that's really not true. It's all 790 chipsets, some 780G chipsets, and misc other chipsets, but they are few and far between. Pretty much any board besides the 790 chipsets will support it AFTER a BIOS flash.

AM2+ will NOT work in AM3.
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 06-15-2009, 09:02 PM   #23 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Tenenbaum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 359
Send a message via MSN to Tenenbaum
Default Re: New Phenom build help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thresh25 View Post
I was pretty sure you could use an am2+ on an am3 board. Just about all am2+ support am3 though, bios flash not needed.
This is true in a sense, but as he asked, "With DDR3", you cannot.

For a AM2+ CPU to work in a AM3 Motherboard, you'll need DDR2 slots, seeing as the AM2/AM2+ CPU's lack the DDR3 memory controllers.

In addition to all of that, the CPU socket needs to be universal so that it will accept both the AM2 and AM3 layouts.
Its just a big headache to explain, go with what I suggested in the second post, you can't go wrong.
Tenenbaum is offline  
Old 06-15-2009, 09:05 PM   #24 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 424
Default Re: New Phenom build help

I currently have a q6600.

It's a good CPU but my case,MB,GPU are all below average now. I really kinda just want to get a good amd chip and board and OC the **** out of it for fun.

Whatever helps me do that i'll be interested in.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by weelilmatt View Post
I need a good gaming desktop that can run 5 instances of World of Warcraft w/o much lag, if any...

I'm not computer savvy.. so i need help! pleasee!! I just need it to be under $1000, just the desktop no mouse/keyboard/monitor
IBM/PS1 is offline  
Old 06-15-2009, 09:15 PM   #26 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: New Phenom build help

^^ I concur. Great deal.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 06-15-2009, 10:01 PM   #27 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 39
Default Re: New Phenom build help

Quote:
Originally Posted by IBM/PS1 View Post
I currently have a q6600.

You shoulda said so... q6600 is an awesome CPU. no need to upgrade that, IMHO. What Mobo you have? Maybe you only need a GPU upgrade????

Shoot.. if you end up upgrading, I'll take your CPU ;-)
MrFeetZ is offline  
Old 06-15-2009, 10:04 PM   #28 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 424
Default Re: New Phenom build help

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrFeetZ View Post
You shoulda said so... q6600 is an awesome CPU. no need to upgrade that, IMHO. What Mobo you have? Maybe you only need a GPU upgrade????

Shoot.. if you end up upgrading, I'll take your CPU ;-)
I have an 8800GT and a Pa-35 DS3L antec 900 case.

I made alot of mistakes my first build and i really want to try water cooling so i figure this is a decent time to try it.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by weelilmatt View Post
I need a good gaming desktop that can run 5 instances of World of Warcraft w/o much lag, if any...

I'm not computer savvy.. so i need help! pleasee!! I just need it to be under $1000, just the desktop no mouse/keyboard/monitor
IBM/PS1 is offline  
Old 06-15-2009, 10:16 PM   #30 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 39
Default Re: New Phenom build help

Your Giga Board aint that bad, neither is you GPU. But if you MUST upgrade, try the GPU first. That 4890 is pretty sweet. After you get that and you still need more juice, then look at Mobo/CPU.

I dont think your gonna get that much of a performance boost going from your Q6600 to AMD X3. Here's a nifty bench comparing the two CPU's

AnandTech Bench (beta): Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 vs AMD Phenom II X3 720

Sorry, i dont think I saw what you'll be doing on the PC mostly; gaming/encoding???
__________________

MrFeetZ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 Build 7000 Beta Review KSoD Official TF Reviews 11 02-15-2009 01:33 PM
rican's Project Phenom 2009 Build Log ricanflow Overclocking and Modding 156 01-28-2009 09:57 PM
First post - First build - HT/Media/Multi-Task Build Reco's? delirium330 New Systems | Building and Buying 60 01-12-2009 03:07 PM
First Computer Build: Newb Need Advice djc122984 System Upgrades 15 12-31-2008 07:59 AM
AMD Phenom & Spider vs Intel QX9770 (What a joke AMD is) Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 88 12-20-2007 10:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.