New Phenom build help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-14-2009, 08:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 424
Default New Phenom build help

I had another thread going about possibly doing an i7 build. I rethought my need for an i7 and i figured a Good phenom chip would suit my needs better.

I don't really have any experience with AMD.

Can anyone recommend a good CPU and board for the phenom series?

Is it worth getting an AM3 for DDR3 or is the performance boost minor?
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by weelilmatt View Post
I need a good gaming desktop that can run 5 instances of World of Warcraft w/o much lag, if any...

I'm not computer savvy.. so i need help! pleasee!! I just need it to be under $1000, just the desktop no mouse/keyboard/monitor
IBM/PS1 is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 08:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Tenenbaum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 359
Send a message via MSN to Tenenbaum
Default Re: New Phenom build help

Quote:
Originally Posted by IBM/PS1 View Post
I had another thread going about possibly doing an i7 build. I rethought my need for an i7 and i figured a Good phenom chip would suit my needs better.

I don't really have any experience with AMD.

Can anyone recommend a good CPU and board for the phenom series?

Is it worth getting an AM3 for DDR3 or is the performance boost minor?

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!
__________________

Tenenbaum is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 08:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 424
Default Re: New Phenom build help

That board seems kinda cheap lol. How does it overclock
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by weelilmatt View Post
I need a good gaming desktop that can run 5 instances of World of Warcraft w/o much lag, if any...

I'm not computer savvy.. so i need help! pleasee!! I just need it to be under $1000, just the desktop no mouse/keyboard/monitor
IBM/PS1 is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 09:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: New Phenom build help

Hickaricloud has that board and raves about it. He is running a X3 in it, but i don't remember his OC offhand.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 09:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: New Phenom build help

Quote:
Originally Posted by IBM/PS1 View Post
That board seems kinda cheap lol. How does it overclock
That board is anything but cheap man... its a really solid board, and that's AMD's best Chipset.
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-14-2009, 09:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 424
Default Re: New Phenom build help

Sorry for doubting you guys but i see boards ranging from 75 dollars to over 500.

I assumed it was cheap.

Would i be able to hook up a swiftech water cooling kit to this board with no problems?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by weelilmatt View Post
I need a good gaming desktop that can run 5 instances of World of Warcraft w/o much lag, if any...

I'm not computer savvy.. so i need help! pleasee!! I just need it to be under $1000, just the desktop no mouse/keyboard/monitor
IBM/PS1 is offline  
Old 06-15-2009, 08:47 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: New Phenom build help

to answer your question above, no, having ddr3 will provide no substantial increase over ddr2 setup. this is because ddr3 as you know has high latency timings compared to ddr2 and the speed does not really benefit you as much as the tighter timings do, go with a nice set of gskill black PI clk4 ram.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 06-15-2009, 09:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: New Phenom build help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
Hickaricloud has that board and raves about it. He is running a X3 in it, but i don't remember his OC offhand.
Here I go raving again, lol. :P

24/7 is 3.5ghz on stock cooling at the moment, max of 3.939ghz completely unstable, lol.

I decided to take a chance on this board when I bought it, since my dealings with Biostar were a few years ago, and they used to be junk. But this is one of the best boards I've ever seen. Great features, solid board.

This board was actually used for the previous x3 720 WR overclock. It's a solid board for a good price, and will do you well.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 06-15-2009, 11:16 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 424
Default Re: New Phenom build help

I was actually thinking of getting DDR 3 ram.

Can anyone recommend a good AM3 board ?

EDIT:

I found this board Newegg.ca - MSI 790GX-G65 AM3 AMD 790GX HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards

Seems really nice

Has holes around the bridges to install water cooling

Along with

NCIX.com - Buy AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition Quad Core Processor AM3 3.2GHZ 8MB Cache 125W 45NM Retail Box - HDZ955FBGIBOX In Canada.

Does anyone know the difference between the 955 and the 945 ? Is it just a few extra mhz overclocked?

The 955 is faster than the 945 but it's priced 5 dollars lower.... Maybe a price messup
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by weelilmatt View Post
I need a good gaming desktop that can run 5 instances of World of Warcraft w/o much lag, if any...

I'm not computer savvy.. so i need help! pleasee!! I just need it to be under $1000, just the desktop no mouse/keyboard/monitor
IBM/PS1 is offline  
Old 06-15-2009, 11:52 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: New Phenom build help

Like was said previously, DDR3 is a waste in an AMD build. You see the slightest of increases in speed. No need to pay an extra premium for DDR3 without an i7 build.
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 Build 7000 Beta Review KSoD Official TF Reviews 11 02-15-2009 01:33 PM
rican's Project Phenom 2009 Build Log ricanflow Overclocking and Modding 156 01-28-2009 09:57 PM
First post - First build - HT/Media/Multi-Task Build Reco's? delirium330 New Systems | Building and Buying 60 01-12-2009 03:07 PM
First Computer Build: Newb Need Advice djc122984 System Upgrades 15 12-31-2008 07:59 AM
AMD Phenom & Spider vs Intel QX9770 (What a joke AMD is) Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 88 12-20-2007 10:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.