New "Phase" - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-30-2008, 07:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Cool New "Phase"

I just picked up a Prometia Mach 2 GT on Ebay for $150. It works and the question is should I actually use it? I'm really worried about condensation issues so if any of you msater cooler guys can give me some advise that would be great!
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 07-30-2008, 08:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: New "Phase"

non-conductive thermal grease. Where would you house it?

edit: NVM I see that it comes in a case. I was just reading and they said to use seal string instead. It looks like its pretty foolproof. I would use it if I were you. Sell your wc kit to make your monies back
__________________

__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 07-30-2008, 08:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: New "Phase"

wow,a $900 cooler for $150....I'd use it if i was you ..that's cheaper/better than any water cooling set up
__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 07-30-2008, 08:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default Re: New "Phase"

I'll give it a shot. I have to buy the 775 kit for $99 but thats not all that much. Thanks. I'll post a shot CPUz shot of the temps once I get it running!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 07-30-2008, 09:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: New "Phase"

Quote:
Originally Posted by RicoDirenzo View Post
I just picked up a Prometia Mach 2 GT on Ebay for $150. It works and the question is should I actually use it? I'm really worried about condensation issues so if any of you msater cooler guys can give me some advise that would be great!
Jseber had it.. he got fed up of it, he didn't like that sometimes it didn't work, and found it to be more troubling than its worth... but I think its worth it though, Condensation is a bit of an issue, but I wouldn't get too worried about it
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-31-2008, 03:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Jumping_Bean514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 752
Send a message via AIM to Jumping_Bean514
Default Re: New "Phase"

Pretty good deal but it will significantly reduce the life of your cpu.
__________________
Bedroom Rig:
HP Pavillion Mini Tower Case
Intel Pentium III Coppermine @ 800MHz
Hyundai 128MB PC100 SDRAM @ 3-2-2-5
Vision Tek Xtasy 9200SE PCI 128MB @ 200/400
19GB Quantum Fireball

Don't be jealous!
Jumping_Bean514 is offline  
Old 07-31-2008, 04:19 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: New "Phase"

just wondering, do you guys mean condensation on the outside of the cooler maybe dripping onto your mobo?
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 08-01-2008, 03:33 AM   #8 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: New "Phase"

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
Jseber had it.. he got fed up of it, he didn't like that sometimes it didn't work, and found it to be more troubling than its worth... but I think its worth it though, Condensation is a bit of an issue, but I wouldn't get too worried about it
ya, phase for everyday use is a hastle.. you have to wait literally an extra 5-10 minutes to boot up because the phase unit has to get set to a certain temperature before you can even boot it

great if you wanna run some benchies maybe... but i hear they're pretty loud.. and just plain annoying if your a joe schmoe
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 08-01-2008, 12:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: New "Phase"

Quote:
Originally Posted by NosBoost300 View Post
ya, phase for everyday use is a hastle.. you have to wait literally an extra 5-10 minutes to boot up because the phase unit has to get set to a certain temperature before you can even boot it

great if you wanna run some benchies maybe... but i hear they're pretty loud.. and just plain annoying if your a joe schmoe
Louder than an HD 2900 series card?!
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-01-2008, 07:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: New "Phase"

ahaha.... phase change unit... is pretty much a refridgerator unit... its loud
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.