New PC Specs...good or bad? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-26-2006, 11:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Post New PC Specs...good or bad?

Case: Thermaltake EUREKA Aluminum Mid-Tower Case with Clear Side,

Processor: AMD Athlon 64 5000+Dual Core/ 2.6GHz / 1MB

Processor Fan: GlacialTech Igloo 7700 MC / 18 dBA / Athlon 64 / X2 Dual-Core / Intel CONROE

Motherboard: ASUS CROSSHAIR / nForce 590 SLI / FSB HT2000/1600 / 4 x DDR2 800

Memory: 2 x CORSAIR DUAL 2x1024MB 800MhzPC6400

Hard Drives: 2 x Western Digital SATA II 500 GB, 3.0 Gb/s, 16 MB Cache, 7200 RPM

DVD: NEC AD-7173A DVD-RW 16X, RAM 12x, Labelflash ₪250.00

Graphics Card: Albatron GeForce 7950 GX2 Dual GPU 520M Xtreme / 1GB GDDR3 / SLI

Sound Card: Creative AUDIGY-2 ZS-GAMER Sound Card

Power Supply Unit: Enermax LIBERTY EL620AWT 2.2 620W W/24+2x6 PIN 2x4 PIN FOR ATX

Speakers: Logitech Z5500 / 5.1 / 500W / Digital Speaker System

Keyboard: Logitech G15 Gaming Keyboard

Mouse: Logitech G7 Laser Gaming Mouse

I bought this setup because i play alot of games like Half Life 2 and Counter Strike Source etc.

Wanted to include a physics card but a) Didn't think i really needed one 2) None in stock at the store.

Just wanted an opinion from some other people on what they think of this spec.

Thanks Jordan
__________________

Nuke2k7 is offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 11:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default

Nice setup... that will last a few years
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 11:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks...... that was the general idea to replace my 3 yeard old system with something new that can last about the same amount of time without any major component updates
Nuke2k7 is offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 11:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

you could bilf a lot better system for that much money
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 12:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default

Get 8800GTS or 8800GTX, instead of 7950GX2

Get intel Core 2 Duo E6600 intead of Athlon 64 5000+

And don't get physics cards
maroon1 is offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 02:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by maroon1
Get 8800GTS or 8800GTX, instead of 7950GX2

Get intel Core 2 Duo E6600 intead of Athlon 64 5000+

And don't get physics cards
Smart people DON'T USE PROFANITY!
Gonzo1337 is offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 02:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Looking at 2 models for the graphics cards instead of the one i was considering:

1) Gainward 8262-BLISS 8800GTX 768MB DVI-DVI / 768MB 1,1ns DDR3 / 1800 MHz Memory (Gainward)

2) EVGA e-GeForce 8800 GTX / 384 bit DDR3 / 2560 x 1600 / DVI-I, DVI-I, HDTV / 575 MHz GPU(eVGA)


Both are $932

or just to stick with the one i have

With the processor im happy with what i chose.
Nuke2k7 is offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 02:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

why did you get that althlon 5000? That is kinda a waste, you should have gotten a c2d e6600. If this is some "I am amd all the way" thing, wake up and smell the new transistors burning in. Intel has blown amd out of the water.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 02:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 602
Default

yo go for the amd athlon 4800 cheaper than the 5000 and has double the l2 chache
keyser09 is offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 03:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

I agree with keyser if you are going with an AMD dont get the 5000, it only has 1mb l2 cache, the 4800 has 2.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.