New PC, Need to make sure it will work - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2007, 07:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: New PC, Need to make sure it will work

Looks pretty good, but your power supply is overkill. Get this instead:
NCIX.com - Buy Corsair CMPSU-620HX 620W ATX Triple 12V 50A 24PIN ATX Modular Power Supply 120MM Fan 2X PCI-E - CMPSU-620HX In Canada.

If you have the extra money, you can go for more ram, since you'll be working with 3d graphics.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 08:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 110
Send a message via MSN to valcan222
Default Re: New PC, Need to make sure it will work

It seems your getting all your stuff from one website, the only think i could say as a comment is you could get that graphics card for alot cheaper on newegg, but thats the only think, i agree it is overkill on the psu. thats my only comment have fun with it !!!!!
__________________
ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe
EVGA 8800GTS 640MB
2 GIGS Corsair RAM
Segate 400gig hard drive
WD 160gig External Hard drive
AMD X2 3800
Antec 550watt psu
Acer Black 20" DVI Widescreen LCD Monitor

http://img57.imageshack.us/img57/5826/1937sd2.gif
http://img295.imageshack.us/img295/8831/8064gs9.jpg
valcan222 is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 08:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: New PC, Need to make sure it will work

get a p182

get cheaper cpu and then overclock 5600 speeds are easy to reach and with the money you save you can buy the 640mb version which will server you better as your going to be playing at such high reolutions don't sli it gives you a 40% performance boost not worth it
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 08:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: New PC, Need to make sure it will work

maybe theres no newegg in canada
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 08:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: New PC, Need to make sure it will work

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
maybe theres no newegg in canada
newegg doesn't ship internationally they would make a ton if they shipped to the uk
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 08:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 110
Send a message via MSN to valcan222
Default Re: New PC, Need to make sure it will work

OHHH I didnt know he was in canada sorry,
__________________
ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe
EVGA 8800GTS 640MB
2 GIGS Corsair RAM
Segate 400gig hard drive
WD 160gig External Hard drive
AMD X2 3800
Antec 550watt psu
Acer Black 20" DVI Widescreen LCD Monitor

http://img57.imageshack.us/img57/5826/1937sd2.gif
http://img295.imageshack.us/img295/8831/8064gs9.jpg
valcan222 is offline  
Old 06-05-2007, 12:46 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 6
Default Re: New PC, Need to make sure it will work

One more question, will the Zalman CNPS9700 LED Copper CPU Heatsink 110MM Fan LGA775 AM2 S939 1250-2800RPM 19.5-35DBA Blue LED
fit in my case, and is it too heavy?
When I get a second graphics card, will it still fit. Also are the fans included with the case, enough for this rig, even when there are two graphics cards?

Thanks
web_scripter is offline  
Old 06-05-2007, 01:16 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: New PC, Need to make sure it will work

Thats the same psu i just got at Compusa for way cheaper price

I think I will return it i just got it today. I saw the same one for i think the same price and its modular 750 watts from thermaltake also Ill just have the business guys order it for me
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 06-05-2007, 04:18 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default Re: New PC, Need to make sure it will work

Yea, the GPUs exhaust their hot air out the back anyway, so it will be fine so long as you have a nice intake at the front.

I'd probably go with 4GB ram for 3d modelling though.
__________________

joshd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trying to get a D-link wireless router to work Inziladun Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 7 06-04-2007 04:33 PM
Nero 6 to make VCD sir nerdalot Computer Audio and Multimedia 0 05-21-2007 04:42 AM
My Old 98-95 computer wont work..read on....... bacus23 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-13-2007 04:39 PM
USB Mice Don't Work - Everything Else USB Does. Blizzard596 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 06:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.