New Pc Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-27-2005, 11:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 27
Default New Pc Help

Hey, i'm just about to buy a new computer for christmas and i was looking for some help on creating the new system, like suggestions on changes and advice. I'm some what computer literate on a broad sense but, dont know much about small details.

Anyway i'm looking to spend around 3500AUD (2500USD) max, but i spose could squeeze and extra 100USD if i really needed to. My intentions for this computer is mainly gaming and also some video editing.

So far i've come up with this:

-Antec P180 Case
-Antec Phantom 500Watt ATX Power Supply (OCZ 520Watt Powerstream currently sold out in Australia, but if you think its worth geting i can ship for OS)
-Zalman CNPS7700-CU CPU Copper Cooler Ball bearing
-DFI LanParty UT NF4 SLI-DR eXpert S939 nf4 Dual PCI-Express x16 SLI Dual GbLAN SATA II Raid
-AMD Athlon64 X2 4400+ Dual Core Processor Socket 939-Retail 2.2Ghz Toledo Core
-OCZ DDR2 Platinum EB PC5400 1GB DC Kit 512MBx2 PC-5400 Dual Channel EB Kit
-Seagate Barracuda 120GB 7200.7 SATA 150MBYTE/SEC 8mb Cache with NCQ x 2
-XFX NVIDIA GeForce 7800GTX 256Mb PCI-Express Graphics Card
-ViewSonic VP930B 8ms Black 19" LCD MONITOR 1000:1 Contrast Analog / DVI

This system came to 3900AUD (2,900USD) which is about 300/400AUD (300USD) over my limit. I was thinking i'l downgrade the gfx card to a 6800, or the monitor or the mobo.

Anyway please offer you expertise.......
__________________

jbowman101 is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 11:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Looks nice, but DDR2 doesnt work with AMD. You need to get just plain DDR. If you can afford it, just downgrade to an evga 7800GT. Only $320 US.
__________________

Vybuni is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 11:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 722
Send a message via AIM to Riceball
Default

Yea everything looks good, definitely don't get XFX for video cards though, they're horrible. Go with eVGA and downgrade to a 7800GT because in benchmarks, the GTX only gets about 5-10 fps more than the GT, which IMO isn't worth the large price gap between the two cards. Might want to switch out the ram too.
__________________
AMD 64 3200+ Newcastle@ 2.2Ghz
MSI-RS480M-IL
1GB (1x1GB) OCZ Performance Series
ATI X700 Pro 256MB OC\'d 475/525
OCZ Modstream 520W
Thermaltake Tsunami
Samsung 914v 19\" 12ms LCD
SB X-Fi w/ Logitech Z 5300e
Riceball is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 11:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Looks great. But you should probably get 2 x 1gb of ram for 2gbs total. Some newer games will require alot of ram. yeah and ddr2 wont work, you need ddr 184 pin ram.
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 11:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 722
Send a message via AIM to Riceball
Default

Woops forgot to mention that OCZ is THE BEST when it comes to power supplies. I'd definitely wait for it to come back in stock because you will not regret it. I have an OCZ Modstream 520W and it performs flawlessly. Do yourself a favor and get the OCZ PSU
__________________
AMD 64 3200+ Newcastle@ 2.2Ghz
MSI-RS480M-IL
1GB (1x1GB) OCZ Performance Series
ATI X700 Pro 256MB OC\'d 475/525
OCZ Modstream 520W
Thermaltake Tsunami
Samsung 914v 19\" 12ms LCD
SB X-Fi w/ Logitech Z 5300e
Riceball is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 11:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Riceball
Woops forgot to mention that OCZ is THE BEST when it comes to power supplies. I'd definitely wait for it to come back in stock because you will not regret it. I have an OCZ Modstream 520W and it performs flawlessly. Do yourself a favor and get the OCZ PSU
Hows the layout\wiring? I hear they are much "neater" than Antecs. This would be important to me when buying my next PSU.
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 11:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 722
Send a message via AIM to Riceball
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by vaderpro
Hows the layout\wiring? I hear they are much "neater" than Antecs. This would be important to me when buying my next PSU.
The wiring in my OCZ is incredible. All the wires are covered in this sort of white coating, which eliminates all of the messy wires. Here's a pic.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/ShowIm...y%20-%20Retail
__________________
AMD 64 3200+ Newcastle@ 2.2Ghz
MSI-RS480M-IL
1GB (1x1GB) OCZ Performance Series
ATI X700 Pro 256MB OC\'d 475/525
OCZ Modstream 520W
Thermaltake Tsunami
Samsung 914v 19\" 12ms LCD
SB X-Fi w/ Logitech Z 5300e
Riceball is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 11:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

Antec now makes modular PSUs. The PSU in this case (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811129158) uses one.

Here's the PSU:
http://www.antec.com/us/productDetails.php?ProdID=26500
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 12:03 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 378
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Riceball
The wiring in my OCZ is incredible. All the wires are covered in this sort of white coating, which eliminates all of the messy wires.
Looks like silver techflex covered in plastic. I'm getting the 450W ModStream for the build I'm doing for my aunt and uncle.
__________________
ilovesocks is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 02:03 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default Re: New Pc Help

Quote:
Originally posted by jbowman101

-Antec Phantom 500Watt ATX Power Supply (OCZ 520Watt Powerstream currently sold out in Australia, but if you think its worth geting i can ship for OS)
what are you talking about?

http://www.staticice.com.au/cgi-bin/...0W+Powerstream
__________________

__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.